Mindy Hardwick's Blog

Author Mindy Hardwick Muses about Writing

Back-To-School Writing Idea

on August 18, 2007

It’s Back-To-School time! As a former middle and high school teacher, I know these last weeks of August very well. The feelings of excitement about greeting a new class and feeling refreshed after a few weeks away from the classroom. The feelings of “What will my classes be like this year?” The feelings of, “Oh, my gosh..it’s a long time until the next break!” The back-to-school dreams where the class is staring at me and I haven’t planned anything for the first day. Oh yes…I know these late August days very well!

I don’t go “back-to-school” anymore. Although I do work with kids in classrooms through writer-in-residence programs and school visits, my appearances into school usually occur in October.

My first published short story appeared in Summer Shorts published by Blooming Tree Press last September. One of the nice things about this collection of middle grade/early YA short stories is it’s perfect for “back-to-school lessons.”

If you’re looking for a Summer Shorts Writing Handout, try this fun writing and reading lesson with Summer Shorts!Summer Shorts Cover

Leave a Reply

