Mindy Hardwick's Blog

Author Mindy Hardwick Muses about Writing

Graffiti

on July 11, 2008

One of my hats as a writer is running a poetry workshop with youth at Denney Juvenile Justice Center . During the spring, I brought in the book, Graffiti LA: Street Styles and Art, and the youth and I had quite a discussion about graffiti and tag artists.

This summer, I decided to brush up on my own poetry skills and took a great week long poetry class at Richard Hugo House with JT Stewart.

The following is one of my poems inspired by a piece of art work JT brought to class and my work with the kids in detention.

Graffiti

Gang writing splashed onto walls.

Remove it at once!

Artist Expression

Finding its way onto drab, colorless buildiings

Fighting to be seen, not

Erased.

Tag artists

Not

Delinquents.

Leave a Reply

