Mindy Hardwick's Blog

Author Mindy Hardwick Muses about Writing

NaNoWriMo

on November 2, 2008

It’s November 1st.  It’s time for NaNoWriMo–National Novel Writing Month. I participated last year. I fast drafted my way through a romance novel. It seemed to break things loose for my young adult romance novel that has been dragging it’s heels.

Now, it’s a year later–that romance novel is being turned into a novella, and that YA romance novel? I finished another draft, and just completed Darcy Pattison’s Novel Revision Workbook.

So, now I’m all ready to start the next draft of the YA novel–and I think it’s much closer to a submission draft….

On the first day, it’s going well. I’m up to 5,000 words. Granted–I am working off a very solid draft and doing some major revision–but I think it still counts!

But what I’m really excited about is next Saturday, November 8th, I get to be a Teen NaNoWriMo Writing Coach with the Bothell Library--part of the King County Library system. I’ll be at the Bothell library from 11-12:30, talking to teen writers about how to set goals for Teen NaNoWriMo, writing tips, and we’ll be doing lots of fast writing.  It’s going to be very fun!

Leave a Reply

