Mindy Hardwick's Blog

Author Mindy Hardwick Muses about Writing

Seattle RWA Early Bird Pitch Winner!

on September 14, 2009

I am happy to announce that I am a winner in the Seattle RWA Early Bird Bonus Pitch Contest for a paranormal romance, Love’s Last Whisper.

It all started when I was drafting a young adult romance, Weaving Magic. My teen character, Shantel, loves romance novels and wants desperately to have a romance like the ones in her novels.  In order to be able to tell her story, I began to read adult romance. I forgot how much I loved the stories. As a teen, I spent hours reading romance novels. Not too unlike my teen character, Shantel, I too, wanted just one guy to be like the heroes in my stories. I wanted a happily ever after!

As I was reading romances, ideas started to come to me about writing one. But, could I do it? I write children’s and young adult stories and novels. Could I write an adult romance novel? I didn’t know. But, I did know that I’m a writer, and I do know how to learn about the craft of writing.   So I began learning everything I could about romance writing. I bought craft books including, On Writing Romance: How to Craft a Novel That Sells by Leigh Michaels. I worked through her exercises and took an on-line class on writing romance.

During this same time, I also had my young adult romance, Weaving Magic, critiqued by Bev Katz Rosenbaum which gave me not only ideas for how to structure my YA romance, but also my adult romance.

For two years, I participated in NaNoWriMo and worked on drafting the adult romance story. I attended the Seattle RWA Conference last year, and learned a lot more about the romance industry.  I went home full of new ideas about how to write a romance. I outlined. I read about character archetypes. I plotted. I drafted and redrafted.

This year, I entered the Seattle RWA Early Bird Registration Pitch contest.

On Sunday, I got a very cheerful phone message tellling me I was one of the contest winners for my adult paranormal romance pitch of Love’s Last Whisper. At the conference, I will get to meet with Harlequin editor, Tara Parsons in an indivdual appointment. Very excting!

2 responses to “Seattle RWA Early Bird Pitch Winner!

  1. Kim says:

    Mindy! This is awesome news!!! Congrats. Congrats. Congrats. I, too, have been involved with RWA. It’s amazing how much the group has to share, isn’t it? Keep us posted.

  2. Thanks Kim! RWA is an amazing organization! The Seattle chapter is very active and puts on a great conference!

Leave a Reply

