Mindy Hardwick's Blog

Author Mindy Hardwick Muses about Writing

Youth Poetry from Denney Juvenile Justice Center Book Four

on October 14, 2009

Teen Girl

MY NAME IS POWERLESS

My name is Powerless
I live in a corner
In a broken house
My last name is Fear
My middle is Doubt
My parent is Addiction
My sister is Revenge
My brother is Fury,
They go to no end.

My eyes are empty
I have no heart or soul
Knowing me really takes a toll
You won’t be able to fight me
Once I’ve been around
Soon you meet the whole family
We’ll drive you in the ground
You’ll learn not to ask questions
Soon you’ll be like me
Powerless has no end

Good luck getting free.

Leave a Reply

