Mindy Hardwick's Blog

Author Mindy Hardwick Muses about Writing

Poems from Denney Juvenile Justice Center Book Four

on March 7, 2010

Teen Girl

INSIDE AND OUT

I’m ashamed of what I might become
I’m ashamed of all the things I’ve done
I’m staying home
No longer on the run.
I’m sorry Mama, the crying is done
The poisoned plant took over me
My insides hidden and outside you can’t see
The emotion controlling my life
Taking my pain out on my wrist
With a razor or a knife
Forgetting my talent, knowing I could do better
Wish I could stand in the rain
So no one can see me cry
Please Brave Me,
Dry these tears.

One response to “Poems from Denney Juvenile Justice Center Book Four

  1. […] Six years ago, I began to voluntarily run a poetry workshop with the teens incarcerated at Denney Juvenile Justice Center. In the poetry workshop, we write poems about the youth’s life experiences.  Some of the poems have been posted on this blog and can be seen here, and here. […]

Leave a Reply

