Mindy Hardwick's Blog

Author Mindy Hardwick Muses about Writing

Poems from Denney Juvenile Justice Center

on March 7, 2010

Teen Girl

MOM

I wanted to make you happy
I wanted to make you sad
I wanted to make you hate me
I wanted to make you laugh
But you didn’t seem to give a crap
I covered it up with a laugh
I found you so many ways
Sometimes drugged out for days
I’d go get lost in my haze
Afraid to admit you were the reason for my craze

You’d get mad when I left for days
You’d tell me, “I’m caring so give me praise.”
Why should I do anything for you?
You let me down in so many ways.
But, that is all past
And I forgave you.
I want to see you do better
So pull a useful trick out of your hat.

One response to “Poems from Denney Juvenile Justice Center

  1. […] youth’s life experiences.  Some of the poems have been posted on this blog and can be seen here, and […]

Leave a Reply

