Mindy Hardwick's Blog

Author Mindy Hardwick Muses about Writing

Noa Wheeler Seattle SCBWI Workshop

on September 14, 2010

I attended a Seattle SCBWI Professional Series writing workshop with Noa Wheeler, editor at Henry Holt. We spent most of the workshop writing to the theme “Things are not as they seem.” This was perfect as my new middle grade work in progress plays with this idea.

One part of the workshop was to look at a scene we had just written and then tell the scene through the eyes of a minor/secondary character. However, before we did this exercise, Noa had us come up with a one sentence theme for the scene we had just written. The theme of my scene was, “Violent gang leader creates neighborhood beauty by planting marigolds.” In the first version, I told the scene through the eyes of my twelve-year old character Billy. In the second version, I told the scene through the eyes of the gang leader himself. In that telling, I learned that the gang leader had been close to his Grandmother. This was new to me and will help as  I develop the relationship between Billy and the gang leader. Now, I know both characters had close relationships with Grandparents.

I’d highly suggest the next time one sits down to work on a work in progress, try to see things just a little differently. Choose a minor character and let him/her tell their side of a scene!

One response to “Noa Wheeler Seattle SCBWI Workshop

  1. […] by mindyhardwick in Uncategorized I’m happy to announce that one of my flash fiction pieces entitled, “Night Crimes” will be published on Sarah LaPolla’s blog, Glass Cases. The piece was written in the Seattle SCBWI Workshop with Noa Wheeler, editor at Henry Holt. […]

Leave a Reply

