Mindy Hardwick's Blog

Author Mindy Hardwick Muses about Writing

JournalFest 2010

on November 2, 2010

Writing is not always sitting at the computer screen and staring at words. Sometimes, especially when I am creating a new story, I engage in other creative activities to let the process work without my forcing it.

One of my hobbies is Art Journaling. This past weekend, I attended JournalFest 2010 in Port Townsend. Port Townsend is one of my favorite creative spots, and not only did I get to participate in Journal Fest, but I also got to explore Port Townsend, including going to a very cool coffee shop called the Undertown. Yep…the whole coffee shop is under “the town.”

While I was at JournalFest, I took three classes:

Wretched Girl Journaling with Carla Sonheim where I got to play out a couple high school “wretched girl” moments…..great inspiration for teen stories.

Character Journaling with Tiphoni Moore…In this workshop, we got to create characters. Perfect for picture book ideas.

Book of the Night with Juliana Coles...In this workshop, we experienced Juliana’s process, Extreme Journaling, and created “Books of the Night.” I couldn’t have picked a more perfect workshop for Halloween!

As a writer, I think it’s really important to have other creative outlets besides writing.   I came home with a ton of new ideas, and am now starting my writing time with 15-minutes of art journaling. Who knows where it will lead!

I will be using these two resources as inspiration:

1000 Art Journals Project

1,000 Art Journals

2 responses to “JournalFest 2010

  1. Blonnie Bunn Wyche says:

    So much of my writing is done when I’m asleep, or washing dishes, or reading a great book. I find I’m writing something most of the time. Ideas never stop. It puzzles me when those who would write say they have trouble finding material.

  2. I think curiosity and asking questions are a great way to keep priming the pump for ideas!

Leave a Reply

