Mindy Hardwick's Blog

Author Mindy Hardwick Muses about Writing

Writing Resistence

on April 1, 2011

As writers, we can spend a lot of time studying the craft of writing, learning where to submit our work, and then, once that work is sold, learning how to market our work. However, there is another area of writing which is just as important, and that is the psychological part of writing. In other words, the inner battles that we confront as we write the story we need to tell. The voices that ask: Will this story be good enough? Will I be a good enough writer to write this story? How will I start with the blank page? Gee..there are so many other things I want to do besides sit down and write this story. Or, I had a really good idea, but now that I’m at page 50, I’m stuck. Or, now that I’ve written this story, what if it exposes too much of me? What if people don’t like it? What happens if I never sell it? What happens if I do sell it, and people never buy it.  And, the list goes on and on….

There are a lot of techniques, I’ve discovered to deal with writing blocks. Writing a really fast first draft and not going back to reread it as I write. (I learned this by participating in NaNoWriMo a couple times). Or, finding other creative outlets such as collage and journal art which release my creative brain and let the ideas flow unobstructed while I am doing something else creatively. I hear gardening can work this way too for many people.

But I also have three books which I like to flip open and read when I am hitting a creative wall. Only one of these books is about writing. The other two are about creativity in general.

The War of Art: Break Through the Blocks and Win Your Inner Creative Battles by Steven Pressfield

The Courage to Write by Ralph Keyes

Art and Fear: Observations on the Perils and Rewards of Art Making

All of the books have short, brief essays on various aspects of resistance in the creative process. They can be read in order, or they can be read randomly. I’d highly recommend them to any writer.

What are some of the ways you break through writing resistance?

2 responses to “Writing Resistence

  1. Pamela Greenwoood says:

    Good insight for me, Mindy. The block isn’t in the material, it’s resistance in me.

  2. Ah, yes! So, how do you tackle resistance in you?

Leave a Reply

