Mindy Hardwick's Blog

Author Mindy Hardwick Muses about Writing

I Always Wanted To Tell You

on April 27, 2011

Today’s post on the Denney Blog is “I Always Wanted to Tell You.” This poem was first published in our book, Please Brave Me, Dry These Tears.

I always wanted to tell you….is a prompt that I use often with the kids in detention.  The poems can be addressed to parents (absent or not), siblings, girlfriends, or even crimes and addictions.  We talk about how just the writing of what we want to tell someone can help us deal with our feelings about a situation. These poems are especially powerful for loss.

Some other prompts which encourage youth to express their unspoken thoughts to others include:

Don’t tell me..

Don’t ask me..

You want me to be…….

You think I am…

But really I am….

Leave a Reply

