Mindy Hardwick's Blog

Author Mindy Hardwick Muses about Writing

Award Winning Reads Challenge

on May 31, 2011

When I was younger, I loved signing up for the summer reading program at our library. I loved checking out my stack of books, and returning to get stickers for each book I read. I never won anything in the final drawings, but, I could sure fill up my sticker page! Sometimes, when I see the Summer Reading Programs starting at my library, I wish I could be ten again with my arms filled of books and nothing to do every day but swim and read!

However, not all is lost. And there is a great Summer Reading Program for us adults who want to be kids again….. The Award Winning Reads Challenge hosted by two blogs: Books from Bleh to Basically Amazing and The Reading House Wives of Indiana.

The challenge is that you read as many books as you can from the Newbery Award List and the Printz Award List. There will be give-aways too! (Kinda like those stickers in the Summer Reading Program!) This is a great summer reading challenge for anyone who wants to read books from the two most prestigious awards in children’s literature. (Printz is for YA books)

For the complete rules including how to sign up see this post here: Award Winning Reads Challenge

For additional information about the giveaways,  go here: Award Winning Reads Challenge Giveaway/Prize Information

Also, if you are an educator and need continuing education credits, consider signing up for my five credit, distant learning class, “Beyond the Newbery: Discovering Excellence in Children’s Literature.” Signing up for the class can happen at any time, enrollment is rolling, and you have a year to complete the course. Find out more here or e-mail me! 

Beyond the Newbery: Discovering Excellence in Children’s Literature (5 credits)

We want our students to read excellent literature. However, besides knowing about the Newbery and Caldecott books, how do you, the educator find high quality children’s literature to share with your students?

In this course, we’ll explore some of the different awards given to both children’s literature and their authors. We’ll look at children’s book awards such as: The Jane Addams Book award, given to books that foster a better understanding of the world. The Dolly Gray Award, given for books which recognize high quality children’s books that portray individuals with developmental disabilities, and the Laura Ingalls Wilder Award, given to a children’s writer or illustrator whose books have made a lasting contribution to literature for children. The course also includes information on current blogs, websites, and publications that profile excellence in children’s literautre. The course is geared toward educators in grades 4-10 and would be especially helpful for librarians or other reading specialists.

Happy Summer Reading!



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: