Mindy Hardwick's Blog

Author Mindy Hardwick Muses about Writing

Tween Short Story Sold

on June 20, 2011

I’m happy to announce that my tween, first crush, short story entitled, “Best Friends” sold to eChook. The story will be included in an upcoming short story collection. Echook publishes their collections with digital aps, so you’ll be able to download the collection to your Iphone, Ipad, Android, Kindle, Nook with an ap! How cool is all of this digital possibilities!

“Best Friends” is the story of thirteen-year-old Samantha and Jamie who are NOT a couple. Jamie and Samantha have known each other since they were six weeks old. They are best friends.  But, now something is changing and Samantha is not sure how she feels about Jamie. Does she like him as more than friends? Does he like her as more than friends? Will the Valentine’s Day Dance be the place to discover if they might be a couple?

This is a story that is near and dear to my heart. It was inspired by the years when I was working as a seventh grade teacher. I didn’t coach a sport, and I thought that I should participate in some after-school activity, so I signed up to be the dance supervisor for the middle school dances. Four times a year, a small group of kids and I decorated the gym for the dance during my seventh-period planning, and then I was the teacher- supervisor for the dance. My main job was to watch the girls and boys bathrooms and guard the doors so the older high school kids couldn’t come into the dance. Ironically, both this story, “Best Friends,” and a scene in my forthcoming young adult romance novel, “Weaving Magic” have after-school dance scenes!

“Best Friends” has been on submission for a long time. The challenge with this story is that it’s for tween readers, (ages 10-12) and there aren’t a lot of short story markets for tween stories.   The story’s characters, Samantha and Jamie, made their first appearance in “I Believe” which was published as an audio story with Sniplits.  I loved publishing “I Believe” with Sniplits. It was one of my first short story sales, and the day that I received the audio with Kailey Bell reading the story, I knew the story had found the perfect fit!

“I Believe” can be downloaded here.

Now, after a long, long time, the second story with Jamie and Samantha has found a home, and I can’t wait to see the possibilities with this story!

 

Leave a Reply

