Mindy Hardwick's Blog

Author Mindy Hardwick Muses about Writing

BooksOnBoard

on July 28, 2011

The other day, I blogged about how authors find readers.  I mentioned that I would miss having a Borders close to me because I’d miss browsing the shelves and discovering new books. One of the things with buying ebooks, which still seems to be evolving, is the sorting of the books into categories beyond just the genre categories. Amazon uses tags, but even then, I can’t always find a book on a specific subject. For example, if I want to read some young adult romance, it can be hard to sort through and find a listing of them.

Then, the editor at Muse-It-Up Publishing sent out an e-mail asking authors to look at BooksOnBoard, an independent, on-line bookstore. I’d never heard of BooksOnBoard. But, apparently they’ve been around since 2006.(This is one of the many reasons that I’m discovering I love going with an ebook publisher for my young adult romance, Weaving Magic. (April 2012). The industry is changing so fast, and I feel like having an epublisher is putting me on the edge of that change which is very exciting!)

When I browsed BooksOnBoard, I was very pleased to see how the books are listed.

Young Adult books can be found here.

Then, you can sort by category in a genre, and they seem to have a nice selection of a variety of categories.

Here are a listing of the ebooks in YA romance.

Or ghost stories for teens and children

or even short story collections for teens and children

Once you click on a specific book cover, you get a page for that book which includes reviews from Goodreads, ratings, and an excerpt of the first chapter (located under the buy now button).

You can also do a more specific search for types of ebook and formats, as well as audio books here.

Overall, I think this looks like a great site to purchase ebooks, and I’ll be back!

Leave a Reply

