Mindy Hardwick's Blog

Author Mindy Hardwick Muses about Writing

Book Promo Items

on December 7, 2011

One of the things I’ve been doing to get ready for the release of Stained Glass Summer (December 30, 2011), is ordering promo items.  Promo items are things such as bookmarks, postcards, pens, tablets of paper, and pretty much anything you can think of to promote your book. The first thing I had to do was figure out what I wanted to order. Then, I had to figure out where will be the best place for that order. So, what did I order? Bookmarks and Postcards. Where did I order them? Earthly Charms–a small business out of South Carolina who has a good reputation with romance writers–both YA and adult.Earthly Charms designed both my bookmarks and postcards so I didn’t have to worry about that part which was great!

So, why not order something more fun like magnets or pens?

1). Stained Glass Summer comes out as an e-book. When I do school visits and workshops, I won’t have a physical book to sell. So, I need to have something which will take the place of that physical book. I didn’t want something too expensive because I knew that whatever I handed out could end up in the trash. But, at the same time, I wanted something the kids or adults could take away and go order on their own. Hence bookmarks and postcards.

2). I need something to sign. Again, I don’t have a real, physical book. And yes, I’ll be using Kindle Autograph to sign requested books. But, that doesn’t help me at schools or workshops. Postcards and bookmarks are easy to sign.  They will have a shiny gloss on them, but it’s not the UV gloss, so I can write on the bookmarks and postcards. Both Summer Shorts and my short story, “Tales of the Lighthouse Keeper” had bookmarks. They were a hit with the audiences who I write for, so I knew that bookmarks and postcards are a good use of my promo money for my age group.

3). A lot of people live out of the area. I am lucky to be connected to teachers and librarians who live in places other than Seattle. I need to be able to mail them something to get the word out about my book–postcards and bookmarks are easy to mail.

And finally–it’s going to be really fun to tuck a bookmark into my Christmas cards this year!

If you want to take a peak at them…click on the links.

Stained Glass Summer Bookmark Front

Stained Glass Summer Bookmark Back

Stained Glass Summer Postcard Front

Stained Glass Summer Postcard Back

3 responses to “Book Promo Items

  1. Thanks SO much for this post. My e-book will be coming out in January and I like your ideas.
    Patti

  2. Mindy says:

    I like promo items to be practical and simple!

  3. Katrina says:

    Wow, I never thought about ways of promoting e-books. These are great tips for e-book authors. Thanks so much!

Leave a Reply

