Mindy Hardwick's Blog

Author Mindy Hardwick Muses about Writing

Readers Discussion Guides

on December 15, 2011

Both my books, STAINED GLASS SUMMER, and WEAVING MAGIC, have readers discussion guides. The guides can be downloaded free from my website on the book pages.(WEAVING MAGIC’s guide will be posted closer to release date–April 27, 2012).

As a former middle school teacher, I’ll admit that writing a discussion guide for my own book was very fun! My favorite part of teaching was creating lessons. If we were reading a short story or novel, I would always jump off the lesson in the guides and come up with my own ideas. This increased after I earned my M.ED in Curriculum and Instruction with an emphasis in the Creative Arts!

I am also in two bookgroups–a young adult book group (Where we read only YA books) and an adult book group. When it’s our turn to present a book, we’re always looking for more information on the book–interviews with authors or questions to get the discussion started.

The discussion guides can be used for all of these purposes. It can be used by independent readers, book groups, and teachers who want ideas for how to teach the novels.

The study guide for STAINED GLASS SUMMER includes:

  • Prediction Questions
  • Journaling
  • Discussion
  • Activities
  • Resources

Some of the activities and resources include:

I hope you will download the Stained Glass Summer Discussion Guide and enjoy it as much as I enjoyed writing it!

Leave a Reply

