Mindy Hardwick's Blog

Author Mindy Hardwick Muses about Writing

Merry Christmas!

on December 24, 2011

Merry Christmas! In honor of Christmas, I’d like to share two of my favorite holiday recipes. Both are very easy to make, and everyone always loves them!

The first recipe, Chocolate Turtles, I made while I was a teacher at an alternative high school. A group of us got together for a candy making party. These were my favorites!

Chocolate Turtles

56 Individually wrapped carmels

2 bags of milk chocolate chips

2 C Chopped Walnuts

1/2 C Butter (I use real butter)

Melt caramels and butter in double broiler. Stir in nuts. Drop by small spoonfuls onto a butter cookie sheet. Do not use wax paper on your cookie sheet. Let cool. Melt chocolate while cooling. Coat the caramels with chocolate. Let sit. Wrap into individual boxes or wrap a group together in a tin.

 

Dell’s Cornish Hens

This recipe has a long standing family history. My Dad used to make these for us, and when my parents divorced, my Dad made Cornish Hens the first Christmas we had with him.  They are great for a dinner for two, a dinner for one, or a dinner for four.  My brother and I even had them one Thanksgiving!

1 Cornish Hen Per Person (They usually are sold in packs of two)

Cooking oil

1 lime per hen

seasoned salt

pepper

Defrost the hens. Remove gizzards (They come in a small package you just pull out. ). Rinse the hens throughly, pat dry, and let sit a minute or two. Rub with cooking oil. Season inside and out with seasoned salt, pepper. Insert one half of a lime inside each hen. Cook, uncovered in oven at 350 degrees for an hour or an hour and fifteen minutes. Serve.

Happy Holidays!

Stormy Wishes For More Dog Biscuits

Leave a Reply

