Mindy Hardwick's Blog

Author Mindy Hardwick Muses about Writing

Weaving Magic Blurb and Excerpt

on February 11, 2012

One of the things my editor and I polished is the blurb and excerpt for Weaving Magic. (Forthcoming, April 27, 2012) Basically, it amounted to adding in more conflict in the blurb and not giving away so much of the scene in the excerpt. Blurbs and excerpts are important because it’s what is posted on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and the publisher’s website. Blurbs and excerpts are what entice a reader or reviewer to try the book.

Here is the blurb:

He loves magic. She loves romance. But the biggest illusion is the one Shantel and Christopher perform together.  Sixteen- year- old Christopher fights to stay sober while fifteen-year-old Shantel struggles in the aftermath of her mother’s death and seeks refuge in a fantasy world. But the unacknowledged roots of their problems refuse to stay buried and soon, the two are headed toward a deadly magic trick. Can Shantel and Christopher move beyond magical illusions to find love?

And excerpt:

Everything would be okay, I told myself. Christopher was my boyfriend. I trusted him. I crunched inside the wicker basket and curled my legs underneath me. I wiped my sweating palms onto my black slacks. The audience stopped calling for an encore. They were so silent I wasn’t sure anyone was still out there.

I’d barely gotten my balance before the first sword barreled into the basket with a lot more force than we’d practiced. Startled, I realized Christopher was keyed up from the magic show performance. He was overestimating the force he was putting behind the swords.

I tried to figure out how to tell him to slow down. I couldn’t very well call out to him or the audience would hear.

Before I could it figure out, the second sword zoomed past me and into the basket. The two swords crossed over my head, and I rearranged myself so I could crouch lower. As I shifted, a third sword whizzed by my left arm and peeled off a small layer of my skin. I saw the blood before I felt the searing pain.

 

2 responses to “Weaving Magic Blurb and Excerpt

  1. Gail Hedrick says:

    Hi,
    This is a great example of the difference in the two very important components of promotion for your book. The story sounds exciting.
    Thanks,
    Gail

  2. Yes! They are very important promotional pieces! One main problem in my earlier drafts of the excerpt was I gave too much away. My editor kept emphasizing that the potential reader only needs a small sample to get them excited about the book–they don’t need the whole scene!

Leave a Reply

