Mindy Hardwick's Blog

Author Mindy Hardwick Muses about Writing

Unreliable Narrator In YA Class

on February 13, 2012

On Saturday, May 5, I’m teaching a one-day class at Richard Hugo House called, Writing the Unreliable Narrator in YA. Bring your liars, thieves and unsavory characters as we spend the afternoon exploring how to craft a narrator who doesn’t quite tell the truth. I’ll be sharing tips I learned about unreliable narrators while working on my YA novel, WEAVING MAGIC. (Forthcoming April 27, 2012). We’ll also do some short readings and writing exercises. The class is also appropriate for writers working on middle grade novels or even picture books. Yes! Picture books have unreliable narrators too. One of my favorites is Dear Mrs. LaRue: Letters from Obedience School. (I’ll be reading it in class, and it’s one that I’ve shared with the teens in juvenile detention!)

The class runs from 1-5 p.m at Richard Hugo House in Seattle. (If you live in the Seattle area, the Richard Hugo House is a great resource for classes, readings, and workshops! I took my first writing for children class at Richard Hugo House years ago, and I still take about one class a year in everything from writing craft to marketing)

Registration information for Writing the Unreliable Narrator in YA can be found here.

 

Leave a Reply

