Mindy Hardwick's Blog

Author Mindy Hardwick Muses about Writing

MUSA Books I Love Blog Hop

on February 15, 2012

It’s a blog hop! What is a blog hop? A blog hop is where a group of bloggers get together and all post about the same topic or theme. Bloggers link to the other blogs involved in the hop, and as you visit each blog on the hop. You can also enter to win free prizes.

The MUSA Books I Love Blog Hop is with Musa authors who blog. We are each talking about Musa books we love and giving away a free copy of our books. It’s easy to visit other blogs on the Hop, you just click on the button above and it will take you to a list of Musa Authors who are on the Blog Hop.

So here we go…..

Welcome to the Musa Books I Love Blog Hop! And today, I’m talking about Musa Books I love!

I’m also offering a give-away of one copy of Stained Glass Summer  in any e-book format to one lucky person who posts a comment below. I will draw from the names on February 20. So, if you want to win a FREE copy of Stained Glass Summer, be sure to comment below! And by the way, Stained Glass Summer can be given as a gift–just in case those of you who have already read the book are thinking, but what do I do with ANOTHER copy?! Give it as a gift to someone who has not read the book!

The two Musa books I love are both published in the Euterpe YA Imprint.  If you are interested in writing YA or MG for Musa, you can find the submission guidelines here.

The Girl Who Remembered Horses by Linda Benson–

The Girl Who Remembered Horses is a beautifully written story. The story takes place after the Dark Days, and Sahara is living in a Clan which travels. She has dreams of these wild creatures called Horses, and believes that it would be possible to train them. But, no one believes her, and instead, thinks it would be better to hunt and kill the horses. Through many twists and turns, Sahara’s gentleness and gift with animals shines as she cares and loves her two dogs, their pups, and her goats. The scene where Sahara rescues a baby horse is especially powerful, and demonstrates Linda Benson’s skill and knowledge in writing about horses. Sahara is a courageous character whose story will appeal to all ages. Highly recommend! (From my Amazon Review).

I interviewed Linda Benson about The Girl Who Remembered Horses in December, and you can read that interview here.

THE GIRL WHO REMEMBERED HORSES is also available from major online bookstores, including Amazon, Barnes and Noble,and Smashwords.

Linda Benson is participating in the Musa Books I Love Blog Hop, and you can find her blog here. Stop by her blog for a visit! She is also doing a give-away of her book!


The Trouble With Nightingale by Amaleen Ison

The Trouble with Nightingale is a YA novella. (Longer than a short story, and shorter than a novel).  It’s a horror story for older YA’s or adults. I’ll admit, I don’t usually read horror, but I’ve gotten to know Ameleen as a Musa author, and she has been very supportive of Stained Glass Summer, so I decided to give her book a read.  It’s one that will linger in your mind for a LONG time! Eighteen-year-old Millie Scrubbings must decide if she will accept her responsibilities as Hell’s new Gatekeeper or risk the denizens of Hell trashing her home turf. Amaleen wrote a great blog post on the Euterpe Blog which talks about how a couple of the characters in her book are based on real people….you can read her blog post here.

Stop by Amaleen’s blog here.

Now, be sure to leave a comment below if you want to be entered to win a free copy of my Musa Book, STAINED GLASS SUMMER. 

Twelve-year-old Jasmine wants to be an artist. But, can she escape the shadow of her artistic Father to discover her own path as a glass artist?

Twelve-year-old Jasmine adores her photographer Father and wants to be an artist just like him. But when Dad abandons the family, Jasmine is sent to spend the summer with her Uncle on a Pacific Northwest Island. Soon, Jasmine is learning stained glass from island glass artist, Opal, and thinking she might just be developing a crush on Island boy, Cole. But, it’s not until Jasmine finds herself mentoring another young artist that she can truly let go of her Father and call herself an artist by her own terms. The story will appeal to young readers between the ages of 8-adult.

And, if you would like to read a few more blogs on the Musa Books I Love Blog Hop, click on the banner here which will take you to the list of authors participating in the blog hop!

30 responses to “MUSA Books I Love Blog Hop

  1. Gail Hedrick says:

    Hi,
    I enjoy your blog so much, and this ‘Blog Hop’ is a neat idea. I’d love to toss my name in the hat for a copy of your book, so thanks for doing this. Also, I have recently submitted a MG ms. to MUSA, so fingers crossed!
    Keep up the great blog and much success with the book.
    Gail

  2. You got it Gail! Your name is in the hat! And my fingers are crossed on your submission to Musa. I really enjoy publishing with them! Let me know how it goes!

  3. Amaleen Ison says:

    Mindy, thank you so much for recommending The Trouble with Nightingale. You’re a star. I can’t wait to host your interview on my blog on Saturday. 🙂 Have a lovely week, and thank you again.

  4. Mindy, I’d love to have a copy of your book. I’ve enjoyed following your journey.

  5. Hey, Mindy, great picks for the blog hop – I’ve read both. What I haven’t read is STAINED GLASS SUMMER, so here I am, leaving a comment. P.S. – do you take bribes? Who do I make the check out to? Grin.

  6. ab says:

    I’m looking forward to reading this & passing it on to my daughter! 🙂

  7. Sara Daniel says:

    Wow, great YA books to choose from or, even better, read them all! Thanks!

  8. I read many books for enjoying, some for market research and often find they amount to both. I’ve only recently looked at a few YA books, mostly owing to recommendations. YA books can be surprisingly good (surprisingly because I think many people don’t expect them to be as good as they are) and these certainly sound tempting.

  9. Libby says:

    I definitely want to read all of your recommended books (why are there not enough hours in the day…) Thanks for the titles, Mindy, and I must say your blog is totally gorgeous. I love the blue swirlies, the clouds and the sun. Really, so pretty. 🙂

  10. Thanks Libby! It’s fun going around to see the other Musa blogs! I feel like we’re in a big Open House party! Mine is just one of the WordPress templates.

  11. Arley Cole says:

    Woohoo! Great blog and great books!! I’d love to get Stained Glass Summer too!!

  12. Hi Mindy! Hello from a fellow Musa author!

  13. Kirby says:

    This looks like something my Daughter could read as well as Me. 🙂 I look forward to reading it.

  14. Great post, Mindy. More for the TBR pile 🙂

  15. Love your blog and would love to win Stained Glass Summer. 🙂

  16. Joanie Vezelis says:

    Excited to read your Stained Glass Summer, one of these days. I feel blessed to know you, wow, you’ve come a long way baby! 😉

  17. Dawn Eagan says:

    This sounds like something my daughter and son could relate to.

Leave a Reply

