Mindy Hardwick's Blog

Author Mindy Hardwick Muses about Writing

Contemporary Romance Short Story Published

on February 28, 2012

I’m happy to report, that my contemporary adult romance short story, Love’s Storms, is now available to purchase at Amazon.

For the first ninety days, the story is a part of Amazon’s Lending Library, so if you have Amazon Prime, you can read the story for free as your lending title of the month. If not, it’s only 99 cents.

Here is the blurb for Love’s Storms.

Smart and savvy Sabrina runs a small bed and breakfast in Western New York, and is doing everything she can to risk falling in love again. Meanwhile, sexy and successful Damon has the world at his doorstep–except for the one woman he’s never forgotten, Sabrina, his first love. When the town hosts a Sailing Regatta, Damon shows up at Sabrina’s Bed and Breakfast as one of the crew in the race. But, surrendering to love is not easy, and it will take a storm to show both Sabrina and Damon that some things are worth holding onto.

To buy the story click here.

So, how did I end up publishing an adult short story romance when I write in the children’s market? It all started with my upcoming YA romance, Weaving Magic.

In my upcoming YA romance, Weaving Magic, main character Shantel loves romance. When I wrote Weaving Magic, some of my research included learning about romance books. The first place I started was by attending some of the Seattle Romance Writers of America Meetings and Conferences. I got a big stack of local author’s books and I started to read.

The first thing I discovered is there are many levels of romance. There are historical, paranormal, and contemporary. There are category romances such as the books found in the Harlequin Lines of Love Inspired (Spiritual/Inspirational), and Harlequin Blaze. (Hot, sexy books). There are single title romances such as those by Nora Roberts, Susan Wiggs, and Susan Mallery.  And there are short stories and novellas.

I bought my first e-reader after hearing e-publisher editor Angela James speak at the Seattle Romance Writers Conference.

Romance has changed a lot since the days of bodice rippers and passive women. Today’s romance heroine is most likely to be strong, empowered, and smart. She meets a man who is her equal and then it’s a dance of learning to surrender to each other. My favorite question in writing romance is: Why is she the wrong woman for him? And why is he the wrong man for her? But, yet, they come together! And that’s what makes the story!

After all of that learning about romance, I sat down to write a few myself. I immediately loved the short form–novellas and short stories. I’m a children’s writer at heart, and short just comes naturally to me!

A couple of my romance short stories were published on e-zines, and then I found a romance publisher who was looking for short stories to publish as e-books.

I sent off my contemporary romance (Sweet Level), and today, I’m happy to report, that the story, Love’s Storms, is now available to purchase at Amazon.

To buy the story click here.

Enjoy!

 

6 responses to “Contemporary Romance Short Story Published

  1. Linda Benson says:

    Mindy – How awesome that you tried out another genre, especially as research for your YA novel! Not to mention that you got it published – Woo Hoo! This is so brave of you, and I love the cover for Love’s Storms. I read the sample on Amazon and it’s quite intriguing. You go, girl. I’m so proud of you!!

  2. Jen says:

    You really suffer for your research . . . ;o)

  3. Dawn M. Turner says:

    That was a great read, Mindy! It had me solidly from start to finish – I absolutely loved it! I look forward to more – very nice work! ;o)

Leave a Reply

