Mindy Hardwick's Blog

Author Mindy Hardwick Muses about Writing

Guest Blogging and Giveaway for Weaving Magic

on May 7, 2012

One of the fun parts to an e-book’s release is the blog interviews and guest posts. In the old days, I might have been making my rounds at bookstores and having book signings. But, in the new day of e-books and bloggers, I am making my rounds to blogs. One thing I love about the blogs is they reach beyond the borders of the United States. I love being able to guest post with bloggers who are located in places such as the U.K, or Australia, or Canada. And because both my books are available as e-books, they are easily accessible to readers in other countries.

Last week, I was interviewed on the Long and Short of It YA Blog, and we did a giveaway of WEAVING MAGIC or STAINED GLASS SUMMER. The lucky winner of that giveaway was Derek Thompson!

This week, there is another giveaway of WEAVING MAGIC. This time it’s on Tifferz Book Review Blog. I am guest posting on Tifferz Book Review Blog, and if you leave a comment for her, you will be entered in this week’s giveaway of WEAVING MAGIC. The giveaway period ends on May 10. I met Tifferz at the RWA Chicago Spring Fling Conference a few weekends ago, and she’s dynamite!

You can find that interview and giveaway here.

I’m also guest interviewed on Penny Lockwood Ehrenkranz’s blog.  Here is a little bit from that guest blog post:

When did you first consider yourself a writer?
I first considered myself a writer when I sold my first short story, “Hurricanes” to Blooming Tree Press. I was in the final semester of my MFA in Writing for Children at Vermont College, and I saw the call for short story submissions at my local Seattle SCBWI meeting. The day I got the call from the editor telling me they wanted to publish my story in a collection called, Summer Shorts, I felt like I could finally call myself a writer.
Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?  (Has anyone ever realized it?)
WEAVING MAGIC is drawn from my experience running a poetry workshop with youth in detention. Christopher’s character is based on some of the stories that I have heard in the detention center. Shantel’s character is based on some of my own experience, as a teen, dating a young man in recovery.
 
What books have most influenced your life most?

Cynthia Voigt’s Homecoming and Dicey’s Song. Dicey is such a survivor in those stories. She always resonated with me. In Weaving Magic, Christopher is trying to start a new life, clean and sober. In Dicey’s story, she is also trying to start a new life with her Grandma in Maine.  The theme of “starting a new life as a teen” is something which is in both of my novels.

You can find the whole interview here.

Leave a Reply

