Mindy Hardwick's Blog

Author Mindy Hardwick Muses about Writing

Memories of High School You

on May 11, 2012

I am interviewed on Jaye Robin Brown’s blog today for a feature called, “High School You.” As a part of the interview, there are even some pictures that I found including a photo of my high school bedroom and one of me dressed in my Laura Ashley dress getting ready for graduation.

You can see those pictures and read the interview here

Here is a sampling of the interview:

Did you have a memorable teacher?  Good or bad?  How did they influence you? My most memorable teacher was my swim coach. I swam all four years, and in my senior year, I was having a hard time at school and at home. She advocated for me when I got into a little bit of trouble, and let me serve my detention time sitting at the pool during swim practice. I am always grateful for her seeing I was having a hard time and not letting that hard time define me.

Did you have an inkling as a teenager that you would become a writer? I loved to write, and my parents are both journalists, but I had no idea the books I loved to read had a writer behind them! This is one reason why I love to do workshops with teens.

What book had the biggest impact on you as a high school student?  How? Danielle Steele. I devoured all her books. I couldn’t get enough of them. When I wrote YA romance, WEAVING MAGIC, Shantel’s love for romance books came naturally for me!

This is a picture, also included in the interview, where I am reading one of my Danielle Steele Novels while visiting my Grandparents in San Diego.  Notice those tanned legs–I didn’t mention in the interview how important it was to be TAN, and we slathered baby lotion all over to get that tan….

To read the rest of the interview….go here.

2 responses to “Memories of High School You

  1. Jen says:

    Having a total Laura Ashley flashback!! :o)

  2. They were never very comfortable dresses!

Leave a Reply

