Mindy Hardwick's Blog

Author Mindy Hardwick Muses about Writing

Musa Memorial Day Blog Hop

on May 24, 2012

The Musa Memorial Day Blog Hop is honoring those who serve or have served in the Military. And today, I’d like to thank members of my family who have served. My Grandpa served in the Navy in World Two and was stationed out of San Diego. And, my Dad is a Military brat and grew up living all over the world while his Father (my other Grandfather) served  in the military.

I grew up listening to my Dad’s stories about climbing Mt Fuji and playing cards at a table he’d gotten while living in Japan. Later, my Dad also served time in the Air Force and was stationed at Scott Air Force Base–where I was born.

I am also friends with a handful of women whose spouses all serve in the military. I’ve been in awe of these women’s courage and strength as their husbands leave for months at a time to fight in Afghanistan and Iraq. These women bravely raise young children,and  juggle their own careers.  Many of these women’s husbands are not in active duty anymore but have been called back to go to Afghanistan in the past year or so.  I am honored to have these women as a part of my life.

A very  special thank you on this Memorial Day Weekend to all those who serve our country.

“Service” is defined as: “an act of helpful activity,” and mentoring is one of these “acts of helpful activity”  provided to youth at risk by organizations such as Big Brothers, Big Sisters and Volunteers of America. You can find out more about mentoring opportunities in your community here.

My upper middle grade novel, STAINED GLASS SUMMER, published with Musa Publishing is about artistic mentorship.

Twelve-year-old Jasmine wants to be an artist. But, can she escape the shadow of her artistic Father to discover her own path as a glass artist?

Twelve-year-old Jasmine adores her photographer Father and wants to be an artist just like him. But when Dad abandons the family, Jasmine is sent to spend the summer with her Uncle on a Pacific Northwest Island. Soon, Jasmine is learning stained glass from island glass artist, Opal, and thinking she might just be developing a crush on Island boy, Cole. But, it’s not until Jasmine finds herself mentoring another young artist that she can truly let go of her Father and call herself an artist by her own terms. The story will appeal to young readers between the ages of 8-adult.

Available at Musa Publishing,
Amazon,
Barnes and Noble,
Itunes.

Giveaway: As a part of the Musa Memorial Day Blog Hop, I’m offering a give-away of one copy of Stained Glass Summer  in any e-book format to one lucky person who posts a comment below. I will draw from the names on Tuesday, May 29. So, if you want to win a FREE copy of Stained Glass Summer, be sure to comment below!

Also, be sure to check out Stained Glass Summer on Facebook.  There are some great pictures of a teens at a hot glass workshop on the Stained Glass Summer Facebook Page. Anyone can see them, you do not have to be a member of Facebook. Just click on the link here.

Now, off you go……Blog Hopping to check out the other Musa Authors on the Musa Memorial Day Blog Hop. You can find all the blog links by clicking on the banner below.  Blog hops are like a virtual “Open House.” It’s a great time to check out other authors and their blogs and books!

25 responses to “Musa Memorial Day Blog Hop

  1. My dad served in the Navy, and I so appreciate our servicemen and women. I also very much appreciate and enjoy your blog.
    Thank you for all the information on e-pub and promotion. I’d love to read your book. I have a Sony eReader.
    Have a productive weekend!
    Gail

  2. C.K. Garner says:

    Your book conjures up a lot of lovely images, and some deep reflections of my own and my son’s childhood. I’m happy to have it on my must read list. 😀

  3. my grandfather served in WWWI….my brother-in-law did two tours of duty in Vietnam…I dearly appreciate the sacrifice and commitment to liberty

  4. Ann Herrick says:

    My father was in the military, stationed in India, so I appreciate the salute to those who served.
    I will have to check out your book!

  5. June Kramin says:

    Already have it – wanted to say hey anyway 🙂

  6. Sara Daniel says:

    Mindy, Thanks for reminding us there are other ways to serve for those who are not in the military. A big shout out to every military serviceman and woman this weekend. You have my utmost respect and thanks.

  7. Stained Glass Summer sounds like a book I’d enjoy because it takes place in the Pacific Northwest. Our family used to have a home on Mayne Island, one of the Gulf Islands off British Columbia’s coast. The Canadian equivalent to the San Juan Islands!

  8. Popping in to say hi, Mindy. I definitely like your definition of service. Great job.

  9. Your book looks great! Thanks for reminding all of us that it’s not just the service men and women who serve our great country, but also their spouses as well.

  10. Thanks for a lovely post. Wishing you all the best with Stained Glass Summer. (LOVE that title.)

    • Thanks so much, Ann!!! I credit that title to Sarah Cloots, freelance editor, who worked on a development edit of the novel when I thought I couldn’t take it any farther!

  11. I’ve already enjoyed your book, Mindy, but wanted to stop by all the blogs I could and say hi and thank you for spreading the word about our military.

  12. Thank you for such a thoughtful post.

Leave a Reply

