Mindy Hardwick's Blog

Author Mindy Hardwick Muses about Writing

Lovestruck Blog Hop and Giveaway

on June 14, 2012

It’s a blog hop! A Lovestruck Giveaway Hop! And today, I’m talking about a romance series which has left me completely smitten! I was introduced to the world of romance–both books and writing–when I began working on my young adult romance, WEAVING MAGIC. In my young adult romance, Shantel loves romance books! She wants nothing more than for sixteen-year-old Christopher to be her romantic hero. But, Christopher is not so sure he can live up to Shantel’s dreams.

Story Blurb: He loves magic. She loves romance. But the biggest illusion is the one Shantel and Christopher perform together.  Sixteen- year- old Christopher fights to stay sober while fifteen-year-old Shantel struggles in the aftermath of her mother’s death and seeks refuge in a fantasy world. But the unacknowledged roots of their problems refuse to stay buried and soon, the two are headed toward a deadly magic trick. Can Shantel and Christopher move beyond magical illusions to find love?

You can find WEAVING MAGIC on Amazon and at MuseItUp Publishing. It is coming soon from Barnes and Noble and the Apple Store.

When I wrote WEAVING MAGIC, I realized I needed to understand a bit more about how romance books worked. So, I signed up for a Writing a Romance class with local author, Susan Wiggs.  I’m a good student, and I always buy and read the author’s books when I take a class.  I picked up Susan Wigg’s THE MISTRESS which is a book in her Chicago Fire Trilogy, and I was HOOKED!

After I devoured THE MISTRESS, I went onto read the other two books in the series, THE FIREBRAND, and THE HOSTAGE.

What I loved about these three books is not only the strong heroes and heroines, I loved the historical detail I learned about the Chicago Fire. The trilogy is a  sweeping saga about three young ladies who are interconnected and how their lives are changed by both the Fire and the men they meet in that Fire. And, Wiggs keeps true to a good romance in that it’s not only the ladies who have their lives changed by love, the men are strong characters who do not surrender to love easily, but when they do….ah, it’s a perfect romance!

I went onto read many more of Susan Wigg’s books, and have been lucky enough to hear her talk a couple more times since that first Writing the Romance Class.  Susan Wiggs is one of the keynote speakers at the Seattle RWA Conference in October, and as I’ll be attending and at the bookfair signing copies of WEAVING MAGIC, I can’t wait to hear Susan Wiggs again!

In honor of Susan Wiggs and those first romance books I read, I’m offering a PRINT GIVEAWAY of one copy of either THE FIREBRAND, THE HOSTAGE, or THE MISTRESS. Winners choice.

In order to enter, leave me a comment below and tell me why you want to win one of the books.

U.S. addresses only for this giveaway. The contest runs from June 15-June 22.

Be sure to stop by the other blogs participating on the Lovestruck Blog Hop. You can find a list of the other blogs participating here.

29 responses to “Lovestruck Blog Hop and Giveaway

  1. Susan Lampe says:

    Dear Mindy–I would like to win a romance novel by Susan Wiggs for several reasons–first, i read many historical novels and would enjoy reading how she interweaves the Chicago fire into her trilogy. Also I am interested in reading more romance simply because I’ve heard you speak of your journey into this genre so often. Susan Lampe

  2. jennirv4967 says:

    I love Susan Wiggs, but I don’t have any of the three you’re giving away. I”d love to read them all!! 🙂

  3. Natasha says:

    Thanks for the chance to win! I love Susan Wiggs books!!
    natasha_donohoo_8 at hotmail dot com

  4. Don’t count me in the contest, I’m a strict e-book girl now. BUT I wanted to share my love of Susan Wiggs! 🙂 She’s an amazing author with incredible characters.

  5. meradeth says:

    I haven’t read any books by this author before, but you’ve convinced me to check them out! Thanks for the contest 🙂

  6. Katie says:

    I haven’t read any of these books but want to now! I would love to be able to start a new series this sounds great please count me in! Thanks for the giveaway 🙂

  7. Shannon R says:

    I read the Firebrand and loved it. I haven’t gotten as much time lately to read since I have a 1 year old but this would be great to get me back into reading and relaxing in that brief window after he goes to bed. Please enter me!

  8. bookattict says:

    I’d love to read The Mistress! The Firebrand sounds like an excellent series, and sounds like something I’d really enjoy reading.

    Thanks for the amazing giveaway!
    elizabeth @ bookattict . com

  9. I have read Susan Wiggs stories but not this series and I am always looking for a book recommendation.

  10. bluexp says:

    Thanks for the awesome giveaway!

    I’ve heard great reviews about Susan Wiggs’ Great Chicago Fire Trilogy but have yet to read one though I have read her Lakeshore series and loved it so I’m a big fan of her works 😉

  11. Andie Wardlow says:

    These books sound great…I would love to learn about the great Chicago fire.

    andieleah78@gmail.com

  12. Deb P says:

    Love these books.DebP
    r.d1@myfairpoint.net

  13. froggarita says:

    I’d love to win one because I haven’t read anything by susan before.

  14. Joy F says:

    I really like this author. I have read Passing Through Paradise and would like to read more of her. Thanks so much!!!

  15. Tina B says:

    I read the blurbs for this series and they all sound so intriguing. I have not read any of Susan’s books nor any books about the Chicago Fire. Thank you for the opportunity.
    Weaving Magic sounds like a great read! Congrats on your newest release. 🙂

Leave a Reply

