Mindy Hardwick's Blog

Author Mindy Hardwick Muses about Writing

Mrs Piggle Wiggle’s Magic–Guest Blog Post

on July 23, 2012

I am guest blogging about The Magic of Mrs Piggle Wiggle on the Nerdy Book Blog today. The Nerdy Book Blog is a great blog and includes wonderful guest posts about all aspects of books and reading.

Here is the opening of my guest blog post…..the link to the rest of the Nerdy Book Blog guest post is at the end…Enjoy!

I was lucky to grow up a home where reading was given high priority. My parents read to my brother and I, and books were regular gifts at birthdays and holidays. To this day, I can go to my bookshelf, flip open any of my childhood books and find the inscription from my parents or grandparents. I loved hearing my Mom and Dad read Little Women, Black Beauty, Charlotte’s Web, and the Little House Books. However, it was the stories of Mrs. Piggle Wiggle which I asked for over and over. The Piggle Wiggle stories had a magical power which lasted long after the story ended and they fascinated me.

Who can forget, Mrs. Foxglove baking her thick chewy chocolaty nutty brownies for crybaby Melody? Or Evelyn Rover, Marcy Crackle, and poor little Cornelia Whitehouse eating whisper sticks? Or the story which horrified me the most—Patsy and her dirty arms that grew radishes! I loved the magic of Mrs. Piggle Wiggle and her ability to find a solution for every childhood problem…….

To read the rest of the blog post, stop by the Nerdy Book Club Blog here.

2 responses to “Mrs Piggle Wiggle’s Magic–Guest Blog Post

  1. Susan Lampe says:

    Mindy–In my office, I have a plaque which reads: “Richer than me you’ll never be. I had a mother who read to me!” Susan L.

Leave a Reply

