Mindy Hardwick's Blog

Author Mindy Hardwick Muses about Writing

The Pulse of Mixed Media

on August 4, 2012

When I spend time on the Oregon Coast, I always like to bring along at least one mixed-media/art journaling book as well as a small bag full of mixed-media/art journaling supplies and my art journal. Art journaling is a creative outlet which feeds the writing process for me.

This time, I was given a book for my birthday, THE PULSE OF MIXED MEDIA: SECRETS AND PASSIONS OF 100 ARTIST REVEALED.


The book is a conversation with various mixed media artists. A variety of questions were asked and the artists responded. Interspersed with the questions are mixed media art work.

As I was reading, it occurred to me that many of these questions posed to the mixed-media artists could also be asked of writers. (Good questions to use when I’m interviewing other writers for the blog, too!)

Here are some of the questions asked in THE PULSE OF MIXED MEDIA: SECRETS AND PASSIONS OF 100 ARTISTS REVEALED. I challenge you to answer some!

  • If you had your choice of fame versus income as an artist, which would you choose?
  • Who has had the most impact on your creative life?
  • What is your biggest pet peeve in terms of art? (Substitute the word “writing” for art)
  • What is your most quirky creative habit?
  • What is the one choice as an artist that you regret having made or not made?
  • Have you ever lost a friendship over art?

Here are my responses:

If you had your choice of fame versus income as an artist, which would you choose?

Income. I’d much rather have a continual income than fame with huge demands on my time thus limiting the time alone that I need to create. This answer also reveals the type of writer I am. It’s more important to me to have a continual flow of published books and stories which provide a channel of income rather than a big, block buster book.

Who has had the most impact on your creative life?

My parents. Both of them are creative and raised my siblings and I to value our creativity

What is your biggest pet peeve in terms of art? (Substitute the word “writing” for art).

That e-book, digital first publishers are not seen as “real” publishers. Grrrr…..

What is your most quirky creative habit?

I have to drink coffee with vanilla flavoring while I write in the morning. It’s gotta have that vanilla flavor. I can not write with coffee and milk as cream!

What is the one choice as an artist that you regret having made or not made?

This is a choice that I am making today, but that is still changeable. I’d like to be living in a smaller community with less “busyness,” and traffic.  I’d like to be a small community where I could walk to more places. I am happiest when I am on the Oregon Coast, and at some point, I’d like to be able to live there, or one of the small towns in Oregon.

Have you ever lost a friendship over art?

Yes. It’s hard, sometimes, to explain how writing can take up so much time.

Leave a Reply

