Mindy Hardwick's Blog

Author Mindy Hardwick Muses about Writing

Elf Shoes Story Published

on December 2, 2012

I’m really happy to announce that my companion short story to STAINED GLASS SUMMER is now available! ELF SHOES is a free holiday read and is available for all types of ereaders and tablets. It’s a short story, so you can even download it in PDF file directly to your computer.

ELF SHOES is available at Musa Publishing here.

Story Blurb: Fourteen-year-old Alexa loves to volunteer as an elf at the Island Santa Workshop but this year her costume elf shoes feel a little too tight. When childhood playmate, sixteen-year-old Samson, turns up to play Santa, Alexa finds herself trying to convince Samson to see her as more than just one of the “boys”. Can first love be found this holiday season at Santa’s Workshop?

ELF SHOES is a part of Musa Publishing’s Twelve Days of Christmas FREE reads. ELF SHOES is the story of Jasmine’s best friend, Alexa. (Alexa is the friend who Jasmine meets in the Handmade Soap store on the Island).

The Twelve Free Holiday Reads at Musa Publishing are a gift to readers! Happy Holidays!

To download ELF SHOES click here or on the cover photo.

A little bit of the behind the scenes on ELF SHOES.….The submission call for holiday stories went out in August.  I was just on my way back from my Grandpa’s Memorial and glad to have some fun work to do on the long plane ride back to the Pacific Northwest.  I started writing the story in the St Louis airport while we were waiting for our plane. We arrived early to the airport and our plane was really, really, really late. So, I had lots of time. My Mom snapped a few photos of the writer at work. Here I am, working on ELF SHOES.   If you look very closely, you will see a Tornado sign behind me. The St. Louis airport was hit by a tornado a couple years ago, and these signs direct people to places such as the bathrooms in case of a tornado. I grew up in St. Louis and I’m pretty sure these signs are new! Also included in this picture is the large, large iced mocha. I’m a bit of a coffee addict–it has to be all the coffee stands in the Seattle area…..but most of the time, my coffee is not this large!

4 responses to “Elf Shoes Story Published

  1. Ann Teplick says:

    Congratulations, Mindy!!

  2. Thanks so much! I’m having a great time writing these short, spin-off stories on Jasmine’s Island!

Leave a Reply

