Mindy Hardwick's Blog

Author Mindy Hardwick Muses about Writing

Favorite Holiday Stories

on December 6, 2012

I’m guest blogging at the Euterpe YA Blog about my favorite holiday stories.  This was a very fun blog post to write and I got to share three of my favorite holiday stories.  One of those favorite stories is The Christmas Cat by Efner Tudor Holmes and illustrated by Tasha Tudor.

christmascat

The Christmas Cat was given to me by my Grandma when I was seven. It was the same year I got my first cat, Sunshine. I begged my Dad for a cat and he finally made a deal with me. If I could learn to swim, I could get my cat. That summer, I learned to swim and we all trooped down to the local animal shelter to pick out an orange and yellow striped kitty.

The Christmas Cat is the story of a cat that is found by a farmer. He gives the cat to his two boys as a Christmas present. To this day, I still cannot read The Christmas Cat without choking up over the line, “A grey cat was struggling to walk through the deep snow. He meowed piteously. Occasionally, he would stop and hold up a paw caked with icy snow.”

You can read about the other favorite childhood holiday stories including Father Christmas and Miss Flora McFlimsey’s Christmas Eve at the Euterpe blog here.

I’d love to hear about your favorite holiday stories in the comments below!

2 responses to “Favorite Holiday Stories

  1. One Christmas I too, begged and pleaded for a cat. A picture of a cat was in my stocking on Christmas morning stating that I could pick one out as soon as a family friend’s cat had its kittens. I chose a long haired white kitten with two different colored eyes.

    One of my favorite holiday books is “Twas the Night Before Christmas,” the Mary Engelbreit edition. The pictures are amazing.

  2. I love the cat story!!!

Leave a Reply

