Mindy Hardwick's Blog

Author Mindy Hardwick Muses about Writing

Valentine Blog Hop and Giveaway

on February 10, 2013

celebratingstvalentine

Happy Valentine’s Day! I’m participating in the Celebrating Saint Valentine Giveaway Hop hosted by Reading Romances Blog.

My favorite memory of Valentine’s Day is when my Mom sent a hand bell choir to my studio apartment. I was in college and Valentine’s Day was not my favorite holiday. During my first year of college, my boyfriend broke up with me three days before Valentine’s Day. That year, I watched as flowers and gifts poured into the dorm. By my junior year of college, I was living in my own apartment, but I still didn’t have a boyfriend on Valentine’s Day. Mom wanted to make the day special and so she sent the hand bell choir over to cheer me up. They piled into the third floor apartment and “You Are My Sunshine” rang to the rafters of that third floor apartment.

My sweet,  contemporary romance novella VINTAGE VALENTINE, is also a story about a mother and a daughter on Valentine’s Day.

STORY BLURB: On Valentine’s Day, Hailey returns home to the Elmheart Hotel with her ten-year-old daughter. After years away, Hailey is happy to help celebrate her grandparent’s golden wedding anniversary. But, when Hailey finds former, high school boyfriend, Patrick, working as the hotel’s chef, she will have to find a way to tell Patrick the secret she has kept for ten years in this sweet contemporary romance short story.

Find out more about VINTAGE VALENTINE here.

Vintage Valentine

 

Now, what can you win on this blog….as a part of the Celebrating Saint Valentine Blog Hop? Well….one of the items of jewelry which are worn in VINTAGE VALENTINE are heart earrings. So, in the spirit of VINTAGE VALENTINE, I am giving away these beautiful glass heart earrings!

il_570xN.410894818_k3co

The glass heart earrings  are made by Belinda Morrison. Belinda Morrison grew up in South Africa and now lives in America, Her experience living in South Africa has given her a great heritage of the diversity of art, color, and design. Colonial English, African, and American have influenced her creativity. Visit her Etsy store and learn more about Belinda Morrison here.

I’m a big fan of glass art. My upper middle grade novel, STAINED GLASS SUMMER, is about artistic mentorship in glass art. (This is a great story for those tweens ages 8-12 and has a little bit of a first crush as a part of the story!) Find out more about STAINED GLASS SUMMER here.

Stained_Glass_Medium_72dpi

Now, all you have to do to enter the giveaway for the glass heart earrings is leave me a comment below and tell me one Valentine memory. Please include your email address with your comment. This blog’s prize is open to U.S. residents only.

Then once you leave me a comment, don’t forget to visit the other blogs on the Celebrating Saint Valentine Day Hop.  You can find all those blogs listed here. You can also click on the banner at the top of this post and it will take you to the list of all the blogs participating!

Good luck!

33 responses to “Valentine Blog Hop and Giveaway

  1. rita Monette says:

    Hey Mindy. Pretty earrings. Hmmm, a Valentine memory? First crush comes to mind, when I got a valentine card from a boy that I had a crush on, but didn’t think he even knew I was alive. Oh, be still my young heart. I was about twelve.

  2. sharonledwith says:

    I used to love getting cartoon character valentines and writing them out for my classmates when I was in grade school. The more valentines a kid got, the more popular he or she was. Now I never scored as many as some girls, but still love the feeling of giving and receiving in that time of my life! Cheers and best wishes in the hop, Mindy! Will share the love!

  3. Terri says:

    The earrings are so cute!! I got a surprised trip one year…best Valentine’s ever…

    atthemapletable at yahoo dot com

  4. Shannon says:

    My favorite was my second date with my hubby. You could just tell then it was something special

    fencingromein at hotmail dot com

  5. Wendy Pogrant says:

    I have always been single
    wendy_pogrant@yahoo.com

  6. Mindy s says:

    My favorite was when my son made me my first valentines card ! The earrings are very pretty ! Thanks for the hop ! Sethmo1999@yahoo.com

  7. susan platt says:

    I love spending the evening alone with my husband without the kids.

    beautiful earrings

    susanmplatt AT hotmail DOT com

  8. Meghan Stith says:

    Happy Saint Valentine’s Day!! Hope your day is filled romance and much love!
    Thanks for the giveaway! I have to say that I get a gift every year from my father and it’s adorable.
    mestith (at) gmail (dot) com

    • When I was in second grade, I was sick on Valentine’s Day. My Dad went to get my Valentines at school. Years later, he still always sends a card and candy! Thanks for stopping by on the hop!

  9. My best Valentine memory is my first date with my now husband. Obviously it was fantastic!
    Mel
    bournmelissa at hotmail dot com

  10. Lisa Walker Liese2 says:

    My husband proposed to me over 20 years ago!
    Thanks for the chance!
    sqwalker2@hotmail.com

  11. […] is still time to leave a comment on the Celebrating Saint Valentine Blog Hop for a chance to win these fabulous glass heart […]

  12. pepper penn says:

    i loved leaving vday surprises on my nana’s doorstep and hiding and watching her get them. such a great memory. thanks for the giveaway. the earrings look amazing!
    pepperpenn42 at gmail dot com

  13. Dione Sage says:

    Amazing Giveaway, Thank you so much for sharing this blog hop!

    uilani25(at)hotmail(dot)com

  14. ruthhill74 says:

    I don’t have many good Valentine’s Day memories. But I remember spending a great deal of time creating classroom Valentine’s one year. That was nice.
    ruthaw_1974@yahoo.com

  15. shadow says:

    Thank you for the awesome hop and giveaway!!! 🙂
    shadowluvs2read(at)gmail(dot)com

  16. schoonover01 says:

    I don’t have a lot of specific memories, just lots of flowers. I got a gorgeous necklace from my boyfriend before we even started dating.
    annah(dot)schoonover(at)live(dot)com

Leave a Reply

