Mindy Hardwick's Blog

Author Mindy Hardwick Muses about Writing

Poetry Ideas

on April 11, 2013

April is National Poetry Month. There are lots of great poetry resources here to help celebrate National Poetry Month.

In honor of National Poetry Month, I thought I’d share some of the poetry ideas I do with kids in writing workshops and the teens in detention. I’ll spread these out over a couple different blog posts this month!

Childhood Toy Poems: Everyone has a beloved stuffed animal, blanket, pillow, or toy from childhood. The one you carried around until it was so old and tattered, a parent slipped it out of your room in the middle of the night and tossed it.  One great way to write about those childhood toys is to share some of the prose poetry in the book, DIRTY WOW WOW and OTHER LOVE STORIES by Cheryl and Jeffrey Katz.

DWW_cover1

Love Poems: My favorite book to use with teens is Falling Hard: 100 Love Poems by Teenagers, edited by Betsy Franco. This is a collection of poetry written by teens about all types of love. One of the constant request from teens in detention is: Where are the love poems? Can we write love poems? This request comes from both boys and girls!

160

The following is a love poem written by a young lady at Denney Juvenile Justice Center in the Poetry Workshop.

Teen Girl

LOVE WAS A PARTY

I’m sorry that we are over

This love is a party

And I need to get sober

It’s either clean

Or

Painfully dirty.

You were so sweet

And then you hurt me.

Like smoking weed,

You burnt me.

I took a hit

You were all I needed

I was so high

Eating clouds

Then it faded

And I hit the ground.
I lusted your ways

Give me a dose.

I love you.

But I cut my hands picking this rose.

The rose died

I opened my eyes

The song is part of the beat

Even though I hate it,

I gotta keep moving my feet.

Published in Please Brave Me, Dry These Tears. November 2009. 

Leave a Reply

