Mindy Hardwick's Blog

Author Mindy Hardwick Muses about Writing

Hot Summer Nights Blog Hop

on May 21, 2013

Hot Summer Night Blog Hop

Summer is just around the corner….can you feel it? Okay, maybe not quite in the Pacific Northwest where summer doesn’t seem to really show up until after July 4th. But, summer is coming and to celebrate summer, I am participating in the Hot Summer Nights Blog Hop!

Do you have a favorite summer memory? One of my favorite summer memories is dating a guy who I met on my parent’s sailboat during college. My boyfriend took me to see an old, and abandoned hotel on the shores of Lake Ontario called The Elmheart Hotel. I fell in love with that hotel and the old ballroom. I envisioned a restored hotel with dances, music, and wonderful food. However, before I finished college, the old hotel burned. (You can read more about the Elmheart Hotel here) 

But, this past Valentine’s Day, I was able to bring that hotel back to life in a sweet, contemporary short romance, VINTAGE VALENTINE.

Vintage Valentine

Story Blurb: On Valentine’s Day, Hailey returns home to the Elmheart Hotel with her ten-year-old daughter. After years away, Hailey is happy to help celebrate her grandparent’s golden wedding anniversary. But, when Hailey finds former, high school boyfriend, Patrick, working as the hotel’s chef, she will have to find a way to tell Patrick the secret she has kept for ten years in this sweet contemporary romance short story.

You can find VINTAGE VALENTINE at Amazon here.

And…..I also brought back those days of sailing and romance back to life in my sweet, contemporary, sailor series. You can find more information about the Sailor Series at my website here.

Love's Storms CoverStory Blurb: Smart and savvy Sabrina runs a small bed and breakfast in Western New York, and is doing everything she can to risk falling in love again. Meanwhile, sexy and successful Damon has the world at his doorstep–except for the one woman he’s never forgotten, Sabrina, his first love. When the town hosts a Sailing Regatta, Damon shows up at Sabrina’s Bed and Breakfast as one of the crew in the race. But, surrendering to love is not easy, and it will take a storm to show both Sabrina and Damon that some things are worth holding onto. Love’s Storms is the first short story in the sweet, contemporary sailor series.

Love's Bid CoverStory Blurb: Cassie Richardson enjoys serving as President of the Sailing Club Foundation Board and overseeing the smooth running of operations. But, when former boyfriend, Eric Atkins, steps in to fill the role of Board Treasurer, things begin spiraling out of control. Soon, Cassie and Eric are tossed together in an auction and find themselves bidding on love. But will a bidding war be enough to overcome the past? Love’s Bid is the second short story in the Sailor Romance series. Love’s Bid is the second short story in the sweet, contemporary Sailor Series.

Love's Christmas Gift-001Story Blurb: Skipper Bill and Elizabeth have been friends forever. But, when Elizabeth is offered a job interview across the country, these two friends are going to need the help of a little mistletoe to find their holiday romance. Can mistletoe turn friendship to Christmas romance in this short holiday romance? Love’s Christmas Gift is the third story in the sweet, contemporary sailor series.

You can find all the Sailor Series Stories here.

Now, for the Hot Summer Nights Blog Hop!

I’d love to hear your summer memories! Leave me a comment with your email address and be entered a chance to win my blog’s prize in the hop which is a $10 Amazon Gift Card! (US or INT). No more than one comment per person.

Then, leave a comment on EACH blog in the hop (you can find the whole list here). Each comment gives you the opportunity to win ONE of the Grand Prizes:

Grand Prize: A Kindle Fire

2nd Grand Prize: A $100 Amazon Gift Card

Winners of the Grand Prize will be drawn from all the names of people commenting in the hop and will be drawn at random and notified no later than May 31, 2013.

75 responses to “Hot Summer Nights Blog Hop

  1. parisfanca says:

    my fondest memories of summer surround a cottage that my family always would rent and we’d spend several weeks there

    parisfan_ca@yahoo.com

  2. Summer memories in a cottage are priceless! Thanks for stopping by the hop!

  3. Rose says:

    summer with the family on the beach are always so much fun ^_^

    rosemchallen [at] gmail [dot] com

  4. Trix says:

    I love going to summer concerts!

    vitajex(at)aol(dot)com

  5. Jennifer Conner says:

    Thanks for being a part of the Hot Summer Nights Blog Hop. Your books are great and we wish you the best of luck!

  6. susan platt says:

    I remember spending the summer playing in the pool.

    susanmplatt AT Hotmail DOT com

  7. Wendy Pogrant says:

    Thanks for participating in the hop.
    Wendy Pogrant wpogrant@yahoo.com

  8. Holly Letson says:

    I love going to the beach during Summer.

    bookaholicholly at gmail dot com

  9. Irene Rosa says:

    1 summer I went to 4-H camp for 3 weeks. I loved it.
    Irene Rosa
    lahincha@hotmail.com

  10. Shelly Hammond says:

    I think my most fond memories would be divided up between the summers in New Jersey at my Aunt Nancy’s house. I was the youngest so my job was to sit out on the porch and husk the fresh picked ears of corn and to this day I’m a pro! We’d spend the day at the beach, head back to her house to swim in her pool, then do the cook out thing before having the head back home to PA. She passed away recently so the memories are pretty special now. There are those memories and the ones spent at my grandparents on the opposite spectrum! In PA in the wooded areas playing on the monkey vines and pretending the big rocks were giant ships and the world around us was our own private little world. Summers were a great time as a kid! Different as an adult, but still pretty awesome 😀

    Thank you for the chance to enter the giveaway and have a happy summer everyone.

    Shelly H.
    booski24@hotmail.com

  11. Dawna Newman says:

    My fondest memory was going to my grandparents for the summer, I would help out in their garden, go to flea markets, out to eat and shopping or sometimes just stayed at home and ate popcorn and watched movies til way late.

    vampiremistress2010(at)gmail(dot)com

  12. strawberryrosered says:

    Being in California it is all about the beaches. Thank you for the chance to win. Have a great summer.

    strawberryrose@earthlink.net

  13. Joy F says:

    Don’t have any memories. I hate summer and stay inside with the a/c on.
    Thanks for the awesome hop.
    magic5905 at embarqmail dot com

  14. Aly P says:

    I love summer,I usually spend it at my grandma in the mountains so they all are great memories
    alinutza4u2004[at]yahoo[dot]co[dot]uk

  15. Sebella Blue says:

    I love sitting on the dock and watching summer storms blow in. It’s almost a religious experience, watching the awesome power of nature.

    blueshedevil32(at)gmail(dot)com

  16. JOYE says:

    Living here in Arizona, it is a really big deal to go in the summer to San Diego and the beaches there. I was lucky in that I have a sister living there, so we would spend a lot of time there cooling off.

  17. Marilyn Conner Miles says:

    This is my first blog hop! I live in the Pacific Northwest too. In fact, I volunteered at Cornish College many years ago, doing PR for the Dance Department and writing articles about the students for the College’s newsletter.
    I really enjoy your stories and look forward to reading more!
    I think we may have had our summer already the first couple weeks of this month(haha, but it did get into the 80’s!) I live near the southern border of Washington and Oregon, next to the Cascade Mountain foothills and we usually get a little hotter than just a mile down the road from us. Fortunately, we have air-conditioning and I look forward to those hot summer nights…

  18. Miranda P says:

    Love having summer bonfires with friends and family.
    bones_mcp(at)yahoo(dot)com

  19. Pam says:

    My son was born on July 4th.

    pjmillion(at)comcast(dot)net

  20. JM says:

    Thank you and GL to everyone! jmelter(at)gmail(dot)com

  21. veronica vaughn says:

    my childhood summers spent at myrtle beach were the best neonangelwings(at)yahoo(dot)com

  22. Andra says:

    Thanks for sharing the giveaway! such a generous prize!!

    andralynn7 AT gmail DOT com

  23. Arely Z. says:

    I honestly just love hanging out with my family and reading 🙂

    amzpar[at]gmail[dot]com

  24. BookAttict says:

    I love reading at the beach!

    Thanks for the amazing giveaway!
    elizabeth @ bookattict . com

  25. Tata says:

    I really enjoy the summer. My best summer memories are related to trips, especially beaches.
    But in the best summer night I’ve ever had I fell in love – he’s my hubby now!
    Tata
    alifeamongbooks (at) gmail (dot) com

  26. bn100 says:

    bonfire on the beach
    bn100candg at hotmail dot com

  27. JanD says:

    Making and flying kites with my childhood friends.
    bituin76 at hotmail dot com

  28. My summer memories center around family birthdays because we were all born between May and August. My parents would throw some amazing parties for us. I continued the tradition with my daughter. Themed parties were the best.

    koonie2888 at yahoo dot com

  29. Elizabeth Inglee-Richards says:

    A similar hotel experience was part of on of my stories as well. Well there were no boats and the story involved hyena. 🙂

    elizabethingleerichards at gmail dot com

  30. BookLady says:

    My favorite summer memories are those spent at the beach. Thanks for the great giveaway!
    bhometchko(at)hotmail(dot)com

  31. Kaci Verdun says:

    Going to the summer Fair for rides, games and elephant ears!
    Thanks for the chance to win a great giveaway!
    kacidesigns AT yahoo DOT com

  32. Amanda D says:

    My favorite summer memory is vacationing at the beach with my family.
    Thanks for taking part in the giveaway!
    asdidonato77(at)yahoo(dot)com

  33. Susan Frances says:

    We gather our best memories in our youth. i love the inspiration for Vintage Valendine. It spurred a memory for me too — not of the hotel I was staying at but of being in Reading, PA on vacation and seeing a young man simply working in the fields. He has been the inspiration of many of my romantic visions.
    susan_francesny[at] hotmail[dot]com

  34. Daniel M says:

    hittin the beach with all our friends – regnod(at)yahoo(d0t)com

  35. Maria says:

    My favorite summer memory was 2 years ago when i spent a month in Jamaica
    Thanks for the opportunity!
    farmaki(at)live(dot)com

  36. Favorite summer memory is going to Disneyworld. Thanks for the giveaway.
    marlenebreakfield(at)yahoo(dot)com

  37. Dovile says:

    My favorite was camping overnight with friends and a bonfire.

    Thank you for the chance!

    spamscape [at] gmail [dot] com

  38. shadowluvs2read says:

    Hi! Sounds like a great book! One of my favorite summer nights was when my cousins, siblings and i camped outside, we stayed up all night, scaring each other, telling stories, playing board games, etc. We even stuck away to the park and played on the play ground for awhile. My parents were very, very strict. Getting away was so much fun and freeing! Its one of my favorite memories! Thank you for taking part in this awesome hop! Its so much fun! Its wonderful meeting and seeing so many great people! 🙂
    shadowluvs2read(at)gmail(dot)com

  39. Veronica M says:

    My favourite memories are the summers I spent with my grandparents on their farm : )

  40. Sam Stamp says:

    My favorite summer memories are when my family would go up to Uncle Bud’s camp & we would celebrate birthdays, swim in Lake Ontario, take rides on the Jet Ski and enjoy each others company!
    samimcsamsam(at)gmail(dot)com

Leave a Reply

