Mindy Hardwick's Blog

Author Mindy Hardwick Muses about Writing

Old School Wednesdays

on August 19, 2013

OldSchool8_Final-450x349

The Book Smugglers hosts a weekly post called Old School Wednesdays.  From their blog:

Old School Wednesdays is a weekly Book Smuggler feature. We came up with the idea towards the end of 2012, when both Ana and Thea were feeling exhausted from the never-ending inundation of New and Shiny (and often over-hyped) books. What better way to snap out of a reading fugue than to take a mini-vacation into the past?

This past week, they invited five bloggers to talk about their favorite old school middle grade books. You can read that post here.

Reading the Old School Wednesday Middle Grade Round-Table post had me combing through my bookshelves for my favorite old school books.

The Witch Family, Eleanor Estes.

I loved this book about the family of witches, and secretly, though maybe I could be a part of it!

Witch Family

The Borrowers, Mary Norton

Another story which fascinated me with the “little people” who lived in the walls. My Mom and I spent many conversations talking about “maybe the Borrowers took it” when things went missing.

Borrowers

Mandy, Julie Edwards

I don’t know how many times I read and reread this book, but it was a lot!  I was in love with her secret cottage and how she had her very own place to go to.

Mandy

Laura’s Luck, Marilyn Sachs

This was another one of those books I read so many times the pages are falling out, and I even shaded in the title–not sure why! In middle school, I attended a Girl Scout camp called Camp Cedarcrest. I think I took this book to every two-week camp session I attended and read it in my canvas tent with the wood floors while eating M and M’s!

Laura's Luck

Homecoming, Cynthia Voigt.

This is a discarded library copy I found a few years ago at a local library sale and is the cover of the book I read as a child. I loved this story, and have talked about it often as how it influenced my own middle grade character, Jasmine, in my book, STAINED GLASS SUMMER.

Dicey’s resilient spirit and her strength in leading her siblings to start a new life with her Grandma is still why she is one of my favorite character’s today.

Homecoming

One response to “Old School Wednesdays

  1. […] This summer, I got on a little trend. I started re-purposing old items. It began when I dug my old yellow bookcase out of the garage. This bookcase has been with me since I was a child. Originally, I stored all the great books I read in middle and high school on it.  I talked about some of my old-school favorite books here. […]

Leave a Reply

