Mindy Hardwick's Blog

Author Mindy Hardwick Muses about Writing

Mentoring Young Writers

on August 26, 2013

This summer, I’ve had the privilege to mentor a young writer through the Youth WRITE Now Program.

Every other week or so, we correspond by email. She sends me some of her writing, I comment on it, and then send her some writing ideas.

This past week, my mentee, Keilah, wrote a blog post about her experience being mentored and why it’s helping her write. You can read that post here.

I was also asked to write a blog post about mentorship and you can read my post here.

The Youth WRITE Now Program is a great mentoring program, and I’d highly encourage all published writers to volunteer to be a writing mentor! You can find out more about being a mentor here. 

a3c49-capture

4 responses to “Mentoring Young Writers

  1. Mindy this sounds like a great idea, great way to give back to young people. Hope you are well!

  2. Thanks Amanda! It’s a fabulous program and my mentee and I have a good time sharing ideas!

  3. Cheyenne says:

    Thank you for the work you are doing with Keilah! She so enjoys working with you! We will be back in touch soon! 🙂 God’s blessings, Cheyenne

  4. It’s great fun to work with Keilah! I really enjoyed your family newsletter! The Mystery Garden article was wonderful!

Leave a Reply

