Mindy Hardwick's Blog

Author Mindy Hardwick Muses about Writing

Writing Holiday Stories

on October 23, 2013

I’m working on my last and final story in the sweet, contemporary romance series about the Elmheart Hotel.  This one will be a story which takes place around New Year’s Eve. (This is not the last romance I’m writing–just the last in this series which also finishes off the Sailor Series Romance stories). It’s the fourth holiday romance story I’ve written. Some of my others include: LOVE’S CHRISTMAS GIFT, VINTAGE VALENTINE, HALLOWEEN LOVE FORTUNE, and ELF SHOES (a spin-off story to STAINED GLASS SUMMER). You can find all my holiday stories at my website here. 

There are a lot of advantages to writing holiday stories.

  •  Anthology collections: Romance publisher, Books To Go Now, bundles holiday stories in anthologies such as VALENTINES SAY I LOVE YOU and LOVE UNDER THE CHRISTMAS TREE
  • Holiday stories are great for spin-off stories to full length novels. Musa Publishing offers free holiday stories to readers every Christmas. Last year, I wrote ELF SHOES which is a novella spin-off to my full length upper middle grade, STAINED GLASS SUMMER.
  • Blog hops. I’ve participated in a lot of fun blog hops around specific holidays and promoted the stories.
  • Built in marketing. Holiday stories (any holidays) have a great audience who are looking for stories to read in that holiday. Christmas stories sell well all year long.

But one of the tricks of writing a holiday story is, most of the time, you are writing it in a season which is not at all close to that holiday. It can be very challenging to find the motivation to write a Christmas story when the sun is blazing and it’s more beach weather than hanging holiday lights weather! So, how do I approach writing a holiday story? These are some of the things I do:

1. Browse Pinterst. Yes….it’s true. I spend some time looking and searching on Pinterst for visual pictures to stimulate my imagination for a particular holiday. After the story is released, I also create Pinterst boards for the story. You can see some of my Pinterst boards for

HALLOWEEN LOVE FORTUNE here.

VINTAGE VALENTINE here.

2. Brainstorm a list of holiday words. This list includes everything from holiday customs and traditions, weather, clothing, decoration, anything I can think of to go along with the holiday I am writing.

3. Check out library holiday books. Before I start writing, I go to the library and sit down in the section of books for that holiday. For Halloween, I might browse things like costumes or food and crafts, for Christmas, the possibilities are endless in what to browse–crafts, foods, decorations, and the list goes on!

And finally, when thinking about writing a holiday story, don’t forget there are many small holidays to consider. You can find a listing of many holidays here and if you want to write about an off-beat and quirky holiday, check out this list.

Happy Holidays!

Love's Christmas Gift-001

Vintage Valentine

Halloween Love Fortune

elfshoes-200

Leave a Reply

