Mindy Hardwick's Blog

Author Mindy Hardwick Muses about Writing

Authors in Bloom Blog Hop

on April 6, 2014

Authors_in_Bloom-300x250

Happy Spring! This month, I’m participating in Authors in Bloom Blog Hop. Each author on the blog hop will be posting a giveaway, gardening tip, recipe or both!  It’s a spring celebration designed to introduce you to authors and give you a chance to win prizes. You can find the list of authors on the blog hop here.

On my blog, I’m giving away one signed print copy of my newest sweet, contemporary romance book, ROMANCE FOR ALL THE SEASONS. (US entries only for print/International may win an ebook copy). In order to be entered, please leave me a comment with one of your favorite gardening tips or recipe titles. Be sure to leave your email address so I can contact you!

RomanceforAllSeasons3 500x750-1Blurb: ROMANCE FOR ALL THE SEASONS is a collection of six, sweet contemporary novellas which will delight your heart at Valentine’s Day, sweeten hot summer days, banish Halloween ghosts and goblins and warm your soul during the holidays.

 

As a part of the Authors in Bloom Blog Hop, there is also ONE GRAND PRIZE of a Kindle or Nook with a $25 Gift Card as well as a second prize of $25 ereader gift card. In order to be entered to win the Grand Prize, you must leave a comment on each blog on the hop. You can find the list here. Only one comment per blog please.

Now for my recipe…I grew up in St. Louis, and one of my favorite recipes is a St Louis classic–Gooey Butter Cake! This is a great recipe to bring to those spring parties!

Gooey Butter Cake (From Just a Matter of Thyme, Recipe Book by Roxie Kelly and Friends)

1 box yellow cake mix

1 egg

1 stick butter, melted

8 ounces cream cheese, softened

2 eggs, beaten

2 cups powdered sugar and some for garnish

Blend cake mix, 1 egg and butter until smooth. Press into a 9 x 13 greased baking pan. Blend cream cheese, 2 eggs, and powdered sugar until creamy and smooth. Spread cream cheese mixture over first mixture in the pan. Bake at 325 for 40-45 minutes or until edges are brown. The middle will sink a little. Sprinkle with powdered sugar. Serves 10-12.

32 responses to “Authors in Bloom Blog Hop

  1. I have made this one and it is very delicious i love this kind of cake. josephhawkshaw@yahoo.com

  2. Thanks for stopping by on the hop! I’m glad you’ve made this cake and found it delicious too!

  3. Savannah Miller says:

    I never made this before, but it sounds super yummy I can’t wait to try it!

    savannahm1987@gmail.com

  4. froggarita says:

    Thanks for the chance to win!
    Froggy
    froggarita@gmail.com

  5. Leslie Rodriguez says:

    When I am “gardening” I like to run my fingernails over a bar of soap so I will not get dirt under them. esseboo@yahoo.com

  6. I’m officially on “yummy” overload!
    eallen99@juno.com

  7. I love participating in these blog hops~ I always come away with a longer TBR as well as new bloggers added to my Bloglovin’ feed 🙂

    ilookfamous at yahoo dot com

  8. greeniejoey says:

    I’ve never even heard of this cake but I am anxious to try it. greeniejoey at gmail dot com

  9. bn100 says:

    Interesting recipe
    bn100candg at hotmail dot com

  10. Mmmm. The cake sounds yummy!

    cchant86 @ yahoo.com

  11. Thanks everyone for stopping by! Remember–if you want to be entered to win a copy of a signed print sweet contemporary romance, ROMANCE FOR ALL THE SEASONS, please leave a tip about gardening or the title of a recipe you love.

  12. ladymagnolia99 says:

    That recipe looks very good!! The meal that my husband likes the best are Porcupines!! They are meatballs with rice!!

    Judy
    magnolias_1(at)msn(dot)com

  13. That sounds yummy!! Thanks for sharing!! I don’t have a gardening tip because I don’t garden,…. and I don’t know the recipe off the top of my head but I love Triple Fudge Brownies! =)

    And your book sounds fantastic!! Contemporary Romance books are my favorite!! ❤

    Thank you for having this giveaway!! I hope you have a great day!! =)

    Brandi
    BLeigh1130 at yahoo dot com

  14. npisunyer says:

    Thanks for the recipe. I also loved hearing about Finders Keepers on your April 1st post. A gret excuse to go to Oregon!! npi-sunyer@comcast.net

  15. karenh43 says:

    I’ve heard of the Gooey Cakes before but have never tried making one. Your recipe inspires me to try it soon.

    kareninnc at gmail dot com

  16. Lisa Lickel says:

    One of my Illinois friends gave this recipe a while back…now I want to make it again. Thanks. lisalickel-at-yahoo.com

  17. BookAttict says:

    Yum!!

    Thanks for the amazing giveaway!
    elizabeth @ bookattict . com

  18. Alisha sienkiel says:

    One garden tip that I don’t always follow is to not buy and plant too many tomato plants. They will grow like crazy so while you may have loads of tomatoes you won’t be able to get to half of them and your garden is going to look like a crazy mess! lol
    sienkiel1821@yahoo.com

  19. Jeanette (jeannie) platt says:

    I think I have gained 10 lbs just from this hop… All the yummy food is seriously awesome. Thank you for being part of the hop.

    j.m.platt83@gmail.com

  20. BookLady says:

    What an interesting cake recipe! It sounds delicious and I am definitely going to try it this weekend. One of my favorite recipes is Walnut Chocolate Chip Cookies. Thanks for the great giveaway.
    bhometchko(at)hotmail(dot)com

  21. Hi! Great post! Love the recipe! Yummy cake! Love it! 🙂 Thank you for sharing! 🙂
    ​And ​thank you for being apart of this awesome hop!
    shadowluvs2read(at)gmail(dot)com

  22. Daniel M says:

    my fav thing to make is snickerdoodles – regnod(at)yahoo(d0t)com

Leave a Reply

