Mindy Hardwick's Blog

Author Mindy Hardwick Muses about Writing

Celebrate Children’s Book Week

on May 11, 2014

CBW_Poster-small

It’s Celebrate Children’s Book Week sponsored by the Mother Daughter Book Reviews and The Youth Literature Reviews. All week, you can enter to win children’s books by stopping by the blogs participating in the celebration.

You can find the whole list of participating blogs here.

In a few weeks, kids will be done with school for the year, and what better time than to pick up a children’s story–especially those set in the summer!

The first story I sold, “Hurricanes” was published in this collection of short stories called SUMMER SHORTS. The story is about a twelve-year-old girl who goes to visit her dad the first summer her parents are divorced. During that visit, there is a hurricane and Jen learns a few things about herself and her Dad. (The collection has since gone out of print)

Summer Shorts

 

My next story, STAINED GLASS SUMMER, is about twelve-year-old Jasmine who moves to a Pacific Northwest Island for the summer and learns stained glass as well as what it means to be an artist. STAINED GLASS SUMMER is available as an ebook (all formats), print and audio book. There is also a study guide at my website here.

Stained Glass Summer. Musa Publishing. ISBN: 978-1-61937-047-0

My second novel, WEAVING MAGIC, is a YA romance and yes…takes place in the summer! The story opens with Shantel and Christopher meeting in a summer street fair mosaic booth. WEAVING MAGIC is available in print and all ebook formats. There is a free study guide available at my website here.

Weaving Magic - Front cover 72 dpi

And then, I broke the summer form and my most recent story, FINDERS KEEPERS, published as a picture book app with MeeGenius publishing is set during the fall! FINDERS KEEPERS is available through MeeGenius and you can see real pictures of glass floats and read about the event in Lincoln City at my website here.

Finders Keepers Cover

Giveaway: As a part of the Celebrate Children’s Book Week Blog Hop, I’m offering one signed PRINT book of either STAINED GLASS SUMMER, SUMMER SHORTS, or WEAVING MAGIC. (Winners choice). US entries only for the print giveaway. (International entries may choice either WEAVING MAGIC or STAINED GLASS SUMMER in ebook.)

To be entered to win, please leave your name, email address and the title of one of your favorite summer children’s books!

And then, click on the image below to be taken to the list of other blogs participating in the Children’s Book Week Kid Lit Giveaway Hop!

CBW-Kid-Lit-Giveaway-Hop-2014-Banner-FINAL-1024x296

30 responses to “Celebrate Children’s Book Week

  1. I loved Wrinkle in Time as a child, it left quite an impression on me. I read more of her books after that! Cherylslife67@charter.net

  2. There’s a beautifully illustrated picture book “All the World” that makes a perfect summer read. Made me breathe deep and smell the salty sea-air when I read it last year. Thanks for sharing your books, Mindy!

  3. I like cold weather, so I can’t say I’ve ever gravitated particularly to summer books! But I’m going to say Holes by Louis Sachar, which certainly has hot weather (though I can’t actually remember if it’s set in the summer or not!)

  4. I can’t think of a summery book, but I always loved the Harry Potter series!

  5. punkin0001 says:

    Hmmm, I like the book Family Secrets by Norma Klein.

  6. Dorothy Teel says:

    I think that we would enjoy reading Summer Shorts here, as a child I loved reading a lot of the Nancy Drew mysteries and any book about Lassie, funny I loved dogs as a child and I have cats as an adult…LOL

  7. HL Carpenter says:

    Mindy! Wondered where you got to. That MeeGenius publishing sounds very interesting. We’ll have to check your book there out…even if it is set in the fall. 🙂

  8. Guess How Much I Love You 🙂

  9. writersideup says:

    Mindy, I’ve REALLY got my eye on STAINED GLASS SUMMER! And the two “summer” books that popped to mind first are: WAVE by Suzy Lee (http://www.suzyleebooks.com/books/wave/), and ONE WATERMELON SEED by Celia Barker Lottridge, illust. by Karen Patkau (https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/2371113.One_Watermelon_Seed)

    writersideup@aol.com

  10. Les Johnson says:

    My daughter really enjoyed the Dork Diary series last summer. Thanks for the giveaway.

    Les Johnson
    katja9_10 at Hotmail dot com

  11. Daniel M says:

    they’re reading harry potter again – regnod(at)yahoo(d0t)com

  12. Candie L says:

    I remember the summer my oldest son read most of the Pendragon series. Thank you

  13. One of my new favorite children’s books is A Snicker of Magic. It is incredibly well written and delivers a beautiful message through some of the best characters I’ve ever read. michelle_willms at yahoo dot com

  14. kdkaren says:

    My kids are really into the Diary of a Wimpy Kid series right now!

  15. Renee @ Mother Daughter Book Reviews says:

    Great giveaway – thanks for joining us in the Giveaway Hop. Pinning and tweeting…

Leave a Reply

