Mindy Hardwick's Blog

Author Mindy Hardwick Muses about Writing

Clear Your Shelf Giveaway Hop

on August 19, 2014

Clear Your Shelf August (2)

This week I’m participating in the Clear Your Shelf Giveaway Hop sponsored by Bookhounds and I Am a Reader Not a Writer.

The hop is all about clearing books from our shelves and giving them away. On each blog participating in the hop, you’ll find giveaways  for books taken from people’s shelves! All the books are physical books, not ebooks. How fun is that!

You can find all the participating blogs in the Clear Your Shelf Giveaway Hop here.

I’m usually pretty good about “clearing my book shelves” on a regular basis.  I made a rule with myself that whenever a book comes into the house, one has to go out. Most of my giveaway books go to the local library which has a Friends of the Library Book Sale every July. This sale supports library programs during the year.  One thing I’ve noticed is with ebooks, I don’t have such a big to read pile sitting on my shelves…..don’t ask me about the list on my tablet! That’s another story!

So….what books am I giving away in the Clear Your Shelf Giveaway Hop?I am giving two books away–one for an adult reader and one for a teen reader.

school

Book Blurb: Once a month on Monday night, eight students gather in Lillian’s restaurant kitchen for a cooking class. They come to learn the art behind Lillian’s dishes, but it soon becomes clear that each one unknowingly seeks a recipe for something beyond the kitchen. One by one, they are transformed by the aromas, flavors, and textures of what they create. Over time, the paths of the students intermingle and intertwine, and the essence of Lillian’s cooking expands beyond the restaurant and into the secret corners of their lives, with results that are often unexpected and always delicious. The School of Essential Ingredients is an Indie Next Pick book.

I heard Erica Bauermeister speak about her book and writing at Get Lit at the Beach in Cannon Beach. The story is a wonderful literary tale which is told in short vignettes from the point of view of each character.  This is a book for adult readers.

 

And….I am giving away….

51ygG0WWdsL

 

Story Blurb: It’s 1972. Twelve-year-old Joan is sure that she is going to be miserable when her family moves. Then she meets a most unusual girl. Sarah prefers to be called “Fox,” and lives with her author dad in a rundown house in the middle of the woods. The two girls start writing their own stories together, and when one wins first place in a student contest, they find themselves recruited for a summer writing class taught by the equally unusual Verla Volante. The Wild Girls brilliantly explores friendship, the power of story, and how coming of age means finding your own answers.

This story is for teen readers, or those who enjoy teen books.

Now for the giveaway rules on this blog….Please leave me a comment telling me which book you would like to win along with your email address. I will select two winners (One for each book) on August 28. The giveaway is only open to US addresses due to the cost of shipping. Please one comment per person.

And to continue on the Clear Your Shelves Giveaway Hop, here is the listing of all the blogs participating.

Good luck!

familyfriendly

 

 

39 responses to “Clear Your Shelf Giveaway Hop

  1. I would like to win The Wild Girls 🙂
    courtlawrence11 at gmail dot com
    Thanks for the giveaway!

  2. Suz Reads says:

    Thanks for this amazing giveaway! I would love to win the School of Essential Ingredients!

    klaxon63350 (at) mypacks (dot) net

  3. School of Essential Ingredients! msteele79atlivedotcom

  4. Martha says:

    School of Essential Ingredients!

    mgifford01 at snet.net

  5. the School of Essential Ingredients
    Cherylslife67(at)charter(dot)net

  6. Nancy says:

    I’d especially like The School of Essential Ingredients.

  7. bn100 says:

    School Of Essential Ingredients

    bn100candg at hotmail dot com

  8. Thanks everyone for stopping by! Good luck in the Giveaway Hop! Lots of books to fill your shelves on this one! Winners announced for this blog on August 28!

  9. Elizabeth says:

    I’d like to win Wild Girls. egholtrop at gmail dot com.

  10. Donna Armstrong says:

    I would love to win The Wild Girls. It sounds very interesting. gailusann20 at live dot com

  11. Gloria says:

    I’d like The School of Essential Ingredients. Sounds interesting. I would read either book, though. Thanks for the giveaway!

    schumany at juno dot com

  12. I would love to win the Wild Girls
    ssremington at gmail.com

  13. ladymagnolia99 says:

    I would pick The School of Essential Ingredients!! Great giveaway!!
    magnolias_1(at)msn(dot)com

    Judy Cox

  14. I think School Of Essential Ingredients would be my pick. I admire your disciple in getting rid of books. My house is overflowing and books are everywhere but the ones I feel I can part with my daughter can’t and vice versa 🙂
    madonnal@gmail.com

    • When I moved into the house where I am living, I had shelves built into one room. I thought there were a lot of shelves….but I think I just have a lot of books! So, after seeing how the books filled all the shelves and realizing there would be no more room for new books, I decided one into the house and one out! It works great–but doesn’t include library books or ebooks!

  15. I would like to read School Of Essential Ingredients. Thank you

  16. I would like The School of Essential Ingredients.
    Thanks 🙂

  17. Mia J says:

    I would like The School of Essential ingredients. Thanks for the giveaway.

  18. isisthe12th says:

    I would choose the school of essential ingredients. Isisthe12th@gmail.com thank you.

  19. lawonder10 says:

    I would like The School of Essential Ingredients

  20. Just a couple days left on the Clear Your Shelf Giveaway blog hop! Remember to leave your email address in our comment so I can contact the winners!

  21. Anita Yancey says:

    I would like to win The School of Essential Ingredients. Thanks for having this giveaway.

    ayancey1974(at)gmail(dot)com

  22. melissa crisp says:

    I think I would like The Wild Girls.
    leighannecrisp at yahoo dot com

  23. chubbymadness says:

    I would love to read The School of Essential Ingredients! It sounds like a read right up my alley.

    chubbymadness(at)gmail(dot)com

  24. BookLady says:

    I would love to win a copy of The School of Essential Ingredients. Thanks for the great giveaway!
    bhometchko(at)hotmail(dot)com

  25. Jan P. says:

    I would like to win The School of Essential Ingredients because I love books that follow a group of people in their daily lives.

    nonna(dot)yrbis(at)gmail(dot)com

  26. stacy says:

    I would love to win The Wild Girls!

    the imagine tree at aol dot com

  27. Katie Amanda says:

    I’d like The Wild Girls. Thanks!
    katieamanda1(at)yahoo(dot)com

  28. BookAttict says:

    I’d love to read The School of Essential Ingredients.

    Thanks for the amazing giveaway!
    elizabeth @ bookattict . com

  29. Daniel M says:

    wild girls sounds interesting

  30. Holly Letson says:

    I would prefer *The Wild Girls*.

    bookaholicholly at gmail dot com

  31. I would like to win The Wild Girls. ingliskf@gmail.com

  32. Amber Terry says:

    I would love to win The Wild Girls although the other book sounds pretty good, too.

    Thank you for the chance to win!

    starry_night1987@yahoo.com

  33. I’d like to read The School of Essential Ingredients.

    Thanks for the amazing giveaway!

    madhoydenish@gmail.com

  34. Alisha Sienkiel says:

    I’d like to win Wild Girls. sienkiel1821 at yahoo dot com

  35. Diane Stedner says:

    I would love to win School Of Essential Ingredients.

    sweeps_101 (at) yahoo (dot) com

  36. Thanks everyone for stopping by on the Clear Your Shelves Blog Hop! Winners will be posted on my blog later today!

Leave a Reply

