Mindy Hardwick's Blog

Author Mindy Hardwick Muses about Writing

Agent Seeking Picture Book Writers

on January 24, 2015

When I began writing for children, one of the best resources was the Seattle chapter of SCBWI. During those years, at the monthly meetings they often posted calls for submission from editors. My first children’s short story, “Hurricanes,” published in an anthology called SUMMER SHORTS, was the result of one of those calls for submission.

Although I don’t attend the monthly meetings of SCBWI anymore, you can still find calls for submission and events of interest to children’s writers on their blog, The Chinook.

This announcement was posted on the SCBWI Seattle blog, The Chinook, this week and I thought it might be of interest to those of you writing picture books. Please note, she is very specific in what she is seeking.

Clelia Gore, literary agent specializing in children’s books at the Mercer Island-based Martin Literary Management says…. “I recently realized that the Kraken, the mythical sea beast that has been having a bit of a pop culture moment in the last few years, would make for a great picture book protagonist. As far as I know, there aren’t really any Kraken picture books in the current marketplace, and I think the right book would be an easy sell to publishers. I have already received some editorial interest for this idea. I am looking for a modern, humorous, quirky, and beautifully illustrated picture book. Perhaps someone has a manuscript that already exists, in which case, I would love to see it. If not, I’d like some author/illustrators to take a “krack” at writing a Kraken picture book and send me manuscripts and some sample artwork (i.e. a mock up of a spread). I’d love to see samples by February 15th. They can send their submission to me at Clelia@martinliterarymanagement.com. Please indicate “Kraken submission” in the subject line.

Clelia is one of the agents who will be at the SCBWI Spring Conference, which I highly recommend attending if you are interested in children’s writing. The conference is good for both writers and illustrators. Registration opens on February 13 and you can find out more here.

 

 

Leave a Reply

