Mindy Hardwick's Blog

Author Mindy Hardwick Muses about Writing

Writing Craft Links

on March 5, 2015

For the last month, I’ve been revising two of my manuscripts–a middle grade novel and a memoir. Both of them went out to freelance editors for critique and I’ve been working from the editor’s notes. This is the last stage for me before I send out my work for submission. I am a firm believer in having a professional eye look over my books before I start the submission process. It’s not that I don’t know how to do a manuscript critique–I do and often do them for other writers. The problem is that in my own writing, I am too close to the story to see objectively after a certain point.

Both manuscripts were at the place where I needed to dot a few “i’s” and cross a few “t’s” as well as do a lot of line edits. The manuscripts are now finished and ready to go out on submission later this spring along with the first story in a chapter book series.

My other large writing project is a multi-book contemporary romance series. I drafted the story in January–after using plot boards, a twenty-five page series bible, and other character work that I did in the fall. That manuscript is going to a freelance editor at the end of next week and then I will work on revisions for it. It also will go out on submission later this spring.

All of this writing in the last two months has put my focus more on the craft of writing rather than the business side. The business side will return soon and look for a new release in STAINED GLASS SUMMER both PRINT and ebook as well as a reissue of my YA, WEAVING MAGIC in both PRINT and ebook. Both of those books have had the rights returned to me and I am taking them out under my own imprint. However, I am still targeting traditional publishing with my other mentioned stories–I am a firm believing in the hybrid author these days!

But with all this writing, I was particular excited to see some writing craft blog postings come across my email in the last couple weeks.

In particular:

The Secret to Creating a Really Good Bad Guy

At Home: Revise Your Novel in 31 Days–This is updated daily during the month of March and has great tips and ideas for revision. Even if you don’t follow the whole 31 days, there is a wealth of information here.

Organize Your Novel with Excel–This is a good way to look at a chapter or novel to see how your point of view, plot and other elements balance in a visual lay-out.

Writing Believable Children in Romance–This is a topic I proposed as a workshop for the fall Seattle RWA Conference and there are lots of good tips here.

Let us know if you’ve seen any great craft related blog postings lately in the comments below!

2 responses to “Writing Craft Links

  1. writersideup says:

    Thanks for the links, Mindy 🙂 I hope all’s well!

  2. Glad they are helpful for you!

Leave a Reply

