Mindy Hardwick's Blog

Author Mindy Hardwick Muses about Writing

Authors in Bloom Blog Hop

on April 7, 2015

Authors_in_bloom_button_image_2_1-0021-300x268

Happy Spring! I’m participating in the Authors in Bloom Blog Hop which includes ten-days of gardening tips, recipes and chances to win books and other swag at blogs!

But the best part of this giveaway is there is a Grand Prize of an e-reader of your choice. (Up to $200 in value) as well as a second place prize of a $25 gift card to your e-book seller of choice. In order to be entered for the Grand Prize, you must visit every blog on the blog hop.  You can find the entire list of blogs participating in the Authors in Bloom Blog Hop here.

Now…on to a fun spring recipe….

For years, I played a monthly Bunko game with the same group of people. It was hosted on a Thursday night at a gal’s old farmhouse and we all enjoyed bringing different appetizers to devour while playing the game.

One of my favorite appetizers was Cucumber Dip. This recipe comes from a cookbook called Applehood and Motherpie Handpicked Recipes from Upstate New York and I bought the book while living in Rochester during the early 1990’s. It is very appropriate as my sweet contemporary romance stories are all set this area of the country.

Cucumber Dip

The recipe should be done a day ahead as it needs to be refrigerated overnight. It also makes quite a bit (4 Cups), so be sure to freeze some)

2 Large Cucumbers

1/2 C Vinegar

2 teaspoons of salt

2 8-ounce packages of cream cheese

3/4 cup of mayonnaise

1/2 clove garlic, minced or 1.2 tsp garlic salt

Peel and grate the cucumbers. Mix cucumber with vinegar and salt and refrigerate overnight. When ready to serve, blend cream cheese, mayonnaise and garlic. Press all liquid from the marinated cucumber. Discard the liquid and stir the cucumber into the cream cheese mixture. Serve with fresh vegetables or a thin corn chip.

Now, for that giveaway….sticking with the upstate New York theme, I am giving away one signed copy of my sweet contemporary romance, ROMANCE FOR ALL SEASONS. The book is a collection of six novellas, all taking place during the holidays. The characters connect to each other in each story and three of the stories are set in the old Elmheart Hotel once located on the shores of Lake Ontario.

In order to be entered to win, please leave a comment telling me what is your favorite appetizer to make and be sure to leave your email address so I can contact the winner. (Sorry US mailing addresses only. One comment per person). I will select and announce a winner on April 18, 2015.  Good luck!

RomanceforAllSeasons3 500x750-1

 

 

25 responses to “Authors in Bloom Blog Hop

  1. JeanMP says:

    The cucumber dip recipe looks delicious, making a copy of it. I like to make a onion dip with greek yogurt.
    skpetal at hotmail dot com

  2. kimberlykcomeau says:

    Do carrot sticks count as appetizers? Hmmm. My carrots and your cucumber dip sounds like a heavenly combination. Have you ever halved your recipe? Does it work just as well?
    casey 4 4 6 at hot mail dot com

  3. notsuchatabularasa says:

    Please don’t count me for the drawing – I prefer digital books (already have way too many print copies of things, enough to make the idea of ever moving terrifying). My favorite appetizers to make, purchase, and, of course, eat are cream cheese wontons. I can’t order Chinese food and get them as a side, as there’s always crab in the restaurant ones for delivery. So, I solved the problem and made my own! I make them in the oven, too, so they’re a little healthier.

  4. rhianona says:

    My favorite appetizer is a simple one. Tuna and fava bean crostinis. Take a loaf of french bread, cut it into slices, brush each slice with olive oil and toast in the oven. Meanwhile, take a can of tuna, drain and mix with some olive oil. After the bread is toasted, put some tuna on the bread and top with a fava bean. Very simple and delish!

    rbarckhaus (at) gmail (dot) com

  5. Jessica Snow says:

    The cucumber dip sounds great!
    Thanks for the giveaway!
    JJs2468@aol.com

  6. I love cucumber dip. Thanks for the recipe! cchant86 @ yahoo.com

  7. Shannon says:

    I love making cheesy artichoke dip myself

    fencingromein at hotmail dot com

  8. Barrie Mac says:

    I don’t make appetizers unless it’s for New Year’s and then my favorite is salami with cream cheese! An “appetizer” for dinner would be a lettuce salad with fresh veggies.

    Barrie

    books4me67 at ymail dot com

  9. ladymagnolia99 says:

    Your cucumber dip looks delicious.I wonder if it could be used when making cucumber dip sandwiches? I love to make nachos, chicken wings, and a cheese dip that my husband eats by the spoonful!!!

    Judy
    magnolias_1(at)msn(dot)com

  10. bn100 says:

    make little sandwiches

    bn100candg at hotmail dot com

  11. BookAttict says:

    I make a similar dip/topping called tzatziki, make with cucumbers, plain fat free yogurt, and seasonings. I use it for dip, salad dressing, on baked potatoes and on souvlaki and gyros.

    Thanks for the amazing giveaway!
    elizabeth(at)bookattict(dot)com

  12. Yum! Your recipe sounds great!

  13. mdotdrizzi says:

    This sounds really delicious! eendrizzi79 at gmail dot com

  14. Thats different, but sounds really yummy. Ive never heard of cucumbers used for dip. Cool! Definitely something i need to try! Thanks for sharing the recipe!
    shadowluvs2read(at)gmail(Dot)com

  15. Thanks for stopping by everyone! The winner of ROMANCE FOR ALL THE SEASONS is Rhianona!

Leave a Reply

