Mindy Hardwick's Blog

Author Mindy Hardwick Muses about Writing

Business Plans for Authors

on September 12, 2015

One of the things which I’ve started doing in the last year is a business plan. I use the template Angela Ackerman recommends in this blog post and update it every three months. In my plan, I list categories which include: Writing (This is the creating of new material or drafting), Marketing (This includes things like blog posts, ads, and Facebook events), and Workshops. I’ve found that the business plan needs to be adjusted every three-months or so. Sometimes I finish before the date I set for myself and other times I need to allow a bit more time.

The business plan helps me stick to what’s next to do rather than wandering off on various tangents and directions. It helps a great deal with marketing where I can evaluate what works and what doesn’t and adjust accordingly.

However, something I had never done as a part of my business plan was develop the mission, vision and value statements. I’ve served on a board and have been a part of this process for an organization, but I’ve never done it for my own business.

In the September 2015 edition of RWA’s Romance Writer Report, there was a great article by Maggie Worth entitled: “Sharpen Your Vision: Strategic Planning for Writers.”

She defines mission, vision and values this way:

Vision (Who you want to be)–This should be BIG! It’s a personal log line where you tell the world who you are

Mission (What you do)-Again, this should be BIG. It’s the what you’re going to do and specifically. It might tell the type of stories you write, and not just in genre, but something along the lines of I write stories to inspire and offer hope, etc.

Values (How you do it)–The values define who you are and what you stand for. What are the three to five core values you can’t live without?

I’ve been working on my mission, vision and value statements the past few days and am excited to see how this impacts my business plan.

Do you have a business plan? Have you developed a vision, mission and values statements for your business? Let us know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

