Mindy Hardwick's Blog

Author Mindy Hardwick Muses about Writing

Looking Back and Eyeing the Future: Goal Setting

on December 5, 2015

It’s the end of the 2015 and about this time of the year, I start thinking about my writing goals for the next year.

It was fun to reread this post from January 2015 where I talk about the writing needing to come first and three projects I needed to finish. I am happy to report that all three of those projects were finished in the beginning of 2015.

  1. I finished the final draft of my memoir, Kids In Orange: Voices from Juvenile Detention based on an amazing editorial critique. This fall I posted the first three chapters on Wattpad and am currently in the process of submitting this book to traditional publishers and agents.
  2. I finished the final draft of Seymour’s Secret, a middle grade based on another editorial critique I received from Sarah Cloots. This book I have been submitting to agents and editors. I’m considering taking this one out with Eagle Bay Press but the challenge is middle grade books have not caught in the Indie publishing the way romance books are selling and I’m not sure it will find it’s readers.
  3. I finished not only the fast draft of my sweet contemporary romance, Sweetheart Cottage, but also a draft based on an editorial critique from Bev Katz Rosenbaum and then turned it over to Danica Winters and her team at SPS Publishing to bring it out to readers in November.
  4. And, I dealt with the unexpected plot twist in my career this year of having Musa Publishing go out of business just at the time my tween book, Stained Glass Summer, was about to move to a widely distributed print. Unwilling to let that story or my young adult romance, Weaving Magic, whose contract was up with MuseItUp Publishing, disappear, I learned how to bring both of those books out under my own imprint, Eagle Bay Press and this opened the door to my decision to take my Cranberry Bay romance series out through Eagle Bay.

 

So, all in all, 2015 was a good writing year!

 

Now for those 2016 writing goals…..

  1. Draft, revise and publish book two in the Cranberry Bay series, Sweetheart Summer. The goal is to have this book to readers by June 2016. I am currently fast drafting it and on the schedule with my developmental editor for late February, so it’s moving along. I am finding it fun to continue to write in a series which is already started–the world building of my town is already done and my characters were all introduced in the first book. Each book will be able to be read as a stand alone book, but it’s fun to link them as a series.
  2. Draft, revise and publish book three in the Cranberry Bay Series, Sweetheart Santa. The goal is to have this book out for the holiday season of 2016, thus giving three books in the series with two more to write.
  3. Revise, send out for an editorial edit, revise and consider a January 2017 publication date of my memoir, The World is a Sniff. This is a story about how my dog and I flunked the reading therapy dog test but found home on the beaches of Cannon Beach. My dog is going to be five this year and I’m getting a little worried I’ll be taking a very elderly dog to book signings if I don’t get a move on this story. I have a draft completed, but it needs a large revision and then a freelance editorial eye on it before I consider bringing it out with Eagle Bay Press.
  4. Continue to submit Kids in Orange: Voices from Juvenile Detention and Seymour’s Secret to agents and editors...with a relook at the situation in summer. The publishing world is constantly changing and when I’m submitting, I make sure to target a six-month goal with another look at how things are at the end of the six months.

What are your goals for 2016?

Leave a Reply

