Mindy Hardwick's Blog

Author Mindy Hardwick Muses about Writing

Authors in Bloom Blog Hop

on March 26, 2017

Happy Spring! I’m participating in the Authors in Bloom Blog Hop sponsored by author, Dianne Venetta.Over the next ten days, authors and bloggers will be sharing gardening tips, recipes and giving away books on their blogs.

There is also a grand prize for the entire blog hop of one ereader and one $25 gift card. In order to be entered for the grand prize, you must comment on all the blogs participating in the blog hop. You can find the entire list of blogs participating here.

On my blog, I’m sharing a recipe for Crab Cakes which is from my memoir, Kids in Orange: Voices from Juvenile Detention.

Kids in Orange: Voices from Juvenile Detention is the story of my seven-year experience running a poetry workshop at Denney Juvenile Justice Center. During that time, my Dad passed away and some of the memoir includes my teen age years growing up and his recipes. One of the recipes is Crab Cakes which his Dad, my grandfather, made for us the first trip we took with Dad as a divorced parent to see his family in Norfolk, Virginia.

 

 

Dad’s Crab Cakes

 

1 cup chopped onion

¼ cup chopped celery

¼ cup chopped parsley

½ cup butter

1 cup evaporated milk

1 egg

Thyme, salt, pepper to taste

2 cups crabmeat (from can okay, if fresh crab not available)

1 cup breadcrumbs

Paprika

Parmesan cheese

 

Sauté onion, celery and parsley in a little oil. Add crabmeat and thyme, salt and pepper. Simmer until heated through. Add bread crumbs (or packaged stuffing), milk, lightly beaten egg. Toss well.

Shape in crab shells (or custard dishes), sprinkle with bread crumbs, parmesan, dot with butter, dust lightly with paprika.

 

Brown in 350 degree oven for 15 minutes.

 

As a part of the Authors In Bloom Blog Hop, I’m giving away a signed print copy of my sweet contemporary romance, Sweetheart Summer! This is a sweet contemporary romance from my series, Cranberry Bay.

To be entered to win a copy of Sweetheart Summer AND the grand prize drawing for the blog hop of an ereader and gift card, please leave your name, email address and one comment about what you love about spring. Please only one comment per person. (US and INT entries)

 

Save

20 responses to “Authors in Bloom Blog Hop

  1. Karrie says:

    I love that everything is waking up and new beginnings!
    Karrie S
    Ksmith8@emich.edu

  2. ligamentje says:

    I love that the flowers are blooming and it’s getting warmer .
    Thanks for the chance .
    Esther Gerdzen
    Ligamentje@gmail.com

  3. ladymagnolia99 says:

    I love that the trees starting getting their leaves back and the flowers start blooming again. I love all the new buds popping out!!!

    Judy Cox
    magnolias_1(at)msn(dot)com

  4. Rachael says:

    I love seeing all the trees in bloom. Thanks for doing the hop. rc12d@yahoo.com Rachael Clemons

  5. Nancy Loring says:

    I love that Spring means the snow will be gone soon also Spring is when my Lilac bushes will be blooming soon. Nancy Loring nancyloring317@gmail.com

  6. Sharon Guagliardo says:

    The thing I love about Spring is all the blooming flowers and all the scents!! Sharon Guagliardo catwoman-1(at)comcast(dot)net

  7. I love seeing the baby animals flowers and trees email is bnc12d@yahoo.com

  8. joy f says:

    Thanks for the chance.
    magic5905 at embarqmail dot com

  9. I love the colorful array of flowers.
    Christina / whistleinthewind74@hotmail.com

  10. Laura McGee says:

    Laura – I love being able to go outside and soak up the sun, even if it is only 50 degrees out. Lrskt@yahoo.com

  11. BookAttict says:

    I like the longer days.

    Thanks for the amazing giveaway!
    elizabeth(at)bookattict(dot)com

  12. Emily Smith says:

    I love all the colors of the flowers and trees blooming! turtleemiwee(at)hotmail(dot)com

  13. bn100 says:

    the flowers

    bn100candg at hotmail dot com

  14. Bonnie Barrett says:

    I love it because of the warmth of the sun! Bonnie Barrett wicked_rose_bon@hotmail.com and i subscribed 🙂

  15. I love all the blooming plants and flowers! Jeanna Massman jeanna_massman@hotmail.com

  16. bunnyclem says:

    I love the blooming flowers! Thanks for the giveaway! 💖
    bunnyclem(at)gmail(dot)com

  17. I love crab cakes! Thanks for the recipe. What I love most about spring is I get to start my veggie garden again.
    cchant86 @ yahoo.com

  18. Rhianona says:

    thank you for the recipe. I love how everything starts to feel renewed in the spring. vipersweb (at) gmail (dot)com

  19. Mindy Hardwick says:

    Thank you to everyone who commented and participated in the Authors in Bloom Blog Hop! The winner of a signed print copy of Sweetheart Summer is Belinda Clemons!

Leave a Reply

