Mindy Hardwick's Blog

Author Mindy Hardwick Muses about Writing

Blog Links of Interest

on November 21, 2014

Happy Friday!

Here are some great writing tips and links for your browsing pleasure!

If you want a little clarity on what hashtags to use on Twitter, check out this great post over at Writers in the Storm.  Twitter is not my favorite social media to use, but hashtags do make it easier to find and follow certain conversations and topics I am bookmarking this one for future reference!

Having trouble pacing your scene or chapter? Angela Ackerman and Becca Puglisi at Writers Helping Writers Blog wrote a great blog post on how to keep your pacing smooth and balanced. Another good one to bookmark!

Are you participating in NaNoWriMo this month? I’ve done it in the past and tried to do it this year, but about eight days into it, I realized it just wasn’t possible for me to do it this time. Partially it was because I already did a fast draft of my contemporary romance in-progress in August and September, and so I’m on a second draft of it now which is much slower and involves me flushing out the details and keeping the pacing and characters going in the same direction. And part of it was I simply had too many other author commitments this month, between speaking events, writing and designing an on-line class for January, and an upcoming book signing over the Black Friday weekend, I just kept getting bumped out of the pure “time to write.” mode.  I loved seeing this blog post over at Seekerville about the reasons author, Myra Johnson is not doing NaNoWriMo.

Finally, the Linus Chapter of Snohomish is collecting handmade quilts and blankets to comfort the teens affected by the shooting at Marysville Pilchuck High school which took place last month and took the lives of five teens.  If you are local, you can drop off your blankets and quilts at Pacific Fabrics in Everett where they are collecting them. If you are not local, and you’d like to participate, I’d be happy to drop off blankets for you if they can be mailed to me. The blankets need to be at Pacific Fabrics by December 31, 2014 Please email me if you need to mail them and we can set something up. The details for the blankets size can be found here.

 

 

Leave a Reply

